Mapping Flare styles to Word OUTPUT styles

This forum is for all Flare issues related to PDF, eBook, Microsoft Word, Adobe FrameMaker, XPS, and XHTML book targets.
kjgemmill
Propeller Head

Mapping Flare styles to Word OUTPUT styles

Post by kjgemmill »

***Note that this topic is about Word output FROM Flare not Word import TO Flare.***

Apologies to those who already know this answer but since I couldn't find it when I was looking I thought I would post my solution. Please let me know if you have a better answer! I'm a newbie!

My problem had to do with a need for Flare to output styles to Word and use the same styles I used when I imported the Word document. Especially the Headings. Someone told me they didn't think there was an option for that. But there "kinda, sorta" is.

I produce lots of documents that my contracting company must submit to the customer as Word docs. After I create a Word document from Flare we could not use the "Navigation Pane" option in Word because it didn't detect any "Headings" even though there are Flare headings. When I first tried to find the new heading styles in the Word Style pane I was unsuccessful. Then I realized that I could click the Options link in the Style pane and select to view "All Styles." Bingo. I found that my Flare headings are now Word styles named "h1," "h2," h3," etc.

Now all I had to do was modify each style to be based on the appropriate Word heading style and I was in business. So I modified "h1" to be based on "Heading 1" and so forth. Immediately all headings showed up in the Navigation pane. [By the way, my Word heading styles and Flare heading styles are virtually identical; even if they weren't I would just make them the same before I linked them. I'm trying to convert to Flare for content management, consistency and my own sanity. I don't expect my contracting company to change overnight but I'm working on them ;)]