MiniTOC in PDF without page numbers

This forum is for all Flare issues related to PDF, eBook, Microsoft Word, Adobe FrameMaker, XPS, and XHTML book targets.
ruthhoward
Sr. Propeller Head

MiniTOC in PDF without page numbers

Post by ruthhoward »

So recently a colleague and I were discussing miniTOCs in PDF and whether we should use them or not. As a result I started playing with the miniTOCProxy styles in the CSS and managed to get one with no page numbers. My colleague expressed surprise because he'd looked into this in the past and had found that no one on the forums had an answer.

So here's how I've done it:

Add this to the “@media print” section of the CSS:

Code: Select all

p.MiniTOC1
{
       mc-auto-number-position: none;
       mc-leader-format: 'none';
       mc-leader-offset: 0;
       border-top-style: none;
       vertical-align: baseline;
       mc-pagenum-display: none;
}

p.MiniTOC2
{
}
I think its the

setting that's sorting this out. The CSS editing GUI in Flare (10.2.2 for me) isn't great for this because the property is there but there's no indication of what might be a valid value - its not a dropdown and isn't in the Edit Style dialog. You have to do it manually in the row of the CSS editor or edit the CSS in text view.

Note, that this is all or nothing (I think). Because p.MiniTOC# is used for all miniTOCProxy styles the above will remove page numbering for any miniTOCProxy that you have irrespective of any class that might be applied to it. However, I think something like this might work (I haven't tried this yet):

MadCap|miniTocProxy.list > p.MiniTOC1
{
}

MadCap|miniTocProxy.pagenums > p.MiniTOC1
 {
       mc-pagenum-display: all;
 }
JenAllen
Jr. Propeller Head

Re: MiniTOC in PDF without page numbers

Post by JenAllen »