Table resizing in PDF output

This forum is for all Flare issues related to PDF, eBook, Microsoft Word, Adobe FrameMaker, XPS, and XHTML book targets.

Table resizing in PDF output

Postby zoltan__v on Wed Mar 08, 2017 1:59 am

Hi all,

Disclaimer: I am new to the forum and to Madcap Flare, I have tried looking for a solution to my issue in the forum and with online help but couldn't find it. However some of you might be able to point me to the right page/solution. :)

Issue: I have several tables in my project that automatically resize when changing to PDF view and when printing in PDF, as you can see in the screenshot. The problem is that the first row always resizes automatically.
I have tried assigning defined values to the columns width both in percentage and in pixels. I also chose in the paragraph settings for the first column to "Never Hyphenate". That only works when I select it, if I save or switch to the text editor, then it goes back to the layout you can see in the screenshot.

Can anybody help me solving this issue?

Thanks,
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
zoltan__v
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2017 7:50 am

Re: Table resizing in PDF output

Postby awells12 on Fri Mar 10, 2017 2:21 pm

I've run into this problem before, and it usually has something to do with content in the other columns (not the one getting squished) not being able to fit in the cell correctly, which can happen with long unbroken words (such as filenames) or large images.
Image
awells12
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 7:51 am

Re: Table resizing in PDF output

Postby Nita Beck on Fri Mar 10, 2017 2:44 pm

Try setting the width of the table to 100% rather than auto. Does that help?
Nita
Image
Content Strategist / Information Architect / Flare Consultant: http://beck-communications.com
Manager, Rochester Flare User Group: http://www.facebook.com/RochesterFlareUserGroup
Nita Beck
Senior Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 2924
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 9:57 am
Location: Pittsford, NY

Re: Table resizing in PDF output

Postby zoltan__v on Mon Mar 13, 2017 1:49 am

Thanks awell and Nita for your replies.

awells12 wrote:I've run into this problem before, and it usually has something to do with content in the other columns (not the one getting squished) not being able to fit in the cell correctly, which can happen with long unbroken words (such as filenames) or large images.


Yes, I think that's the issue. Usually in the "Description" column there are line codes which don't brake up automatically. In the paragraph options, I've tried applying the max. hyphenation (short words, many lines) but, although the lines are now split into many lines, it didn't solve the issue.

Nita Beck wrote:Try setting the width of the table to 100% rather than auto. Does that help?


I've tried setting it to 100% and even playing with the fixed width (either percentage or pixel) assigning more width to the first column, but unfortunately with no luck.
zoltan__v
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2017 7:50 am

Re: Table resizing in PDF output

Postby Robotman on Mon Mar 13, 2017 4:23 pm

zoltan__v wrote:I've tried setting it to 100% and even playing with the fixed width (either percentage or pixel) assigning more width to the first column, but unfortunately with no luck.


So if you set the first column width to something ridiculous like 80 or 90% it still happens?
\m/ Gary \m/
Flare 2017 r2 / Windows 10 64-Bit
Screaming Symphony
Robotman
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 183
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 3:05 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Table resizing in PDF output

Postby zoltan__v on Tue Mar 14, 2017 1:27 am

Robotman wrote:So if you set the first column width to something ridiculous like 80 or 90% it still happens?


Yes, still keeps happening. It seems like whatever width I set the output is the same.
zoltan__v
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2017 7:50 am

Re: Table resizing in PDF output

Postby Robotman on Tue Mar 14, 2017 2:02 pm

zoltan__v wrote:Yes, still keeps happening. It seems like whatever width I set the output is the same.


Can you display your code and ensure you include the table header and the first table row?
\m/ Gary \m/
Flare 2017 r2 / Windows 10 64-Bit
Screaming Symphony
Robotman
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 183
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 3:05 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Table resizing in PDF output

Postby kel322 on Tue Mar 14, 2017 2:05 pm

I sympathize, and I wish I had an answer for you. I've battled the same thing with table columns for a few weeks and haven't figured anything new out. If it didn't take so much time, I would scrap the table tag all together and build a table-looking thing using divs -- though I am not sure how easy that would be to edit and add on to. This was an interesting resource: http://divtable.com/converter/.

I posted on a different forum that deals with this. Perhaps some of the suggestions can help you: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=13391. I do not yet have Flare 2017, but I'm hoping this has been addressed.

Flare is an awesome tool, but this quirks and nuances are driving me crazy!

Best of luck,
Kelly
kel322
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 12:56 pm

Re: Table resizing in PDF output

Postby zoltan__v on Thu Mar 16, 2017 4:55 am

Robotman wrote:Can you display your code and ensure you include the table header and the first table row?


Here is the code of the first two lines:

Code: Select all
<table class="TableStyle-ti_IndentedBasicTable" style="mc-table-style: url('../Resources/TableStyles/Standard.css');" cellspacing="0">
<thead>
<tr class="TableStyle-ti_IndentedBasicTable-Head-Header1" style="height: 52px;">
<th class="TableStyle-ti_IndentedBasicTable-HeadE-Column1-Header1" style="mc-hyphenate: never; border-right-style: none; border-bottom-style: none; padding: 4pt 4pt 6pt 5pt;">HTTP Method</th>
<th class="TableStyle-ti_IndentedBasicTable-HeadE-Column1-Header1">URL</th>
<th class="TableStyle-ti_IndentedBasicTable-HeadD-Column1-Header1">Description</th>
</tr>
</thead>
<tbody>
<tr class="TableStyle-ti_IndentedBasicTable-Body-Body1">
<td class="TableStyle-ti_IndentedBasicTable-BodyE-Column1-Body1">GET</td>
<td class="TableStyle-ti_IndentedBasicTable-BodyE-Column1-Body1" style="mc-hyphenate: always; mc-hyphenate-shortest-word: 5; mc-hyphenate-shortest-prefix: 3; mc-hyphenate-shortest-suffix: 3; mc-hyphenate-maximum-adjacent-line-count: 4; border-right-style: none; border-bottom-style: none; padding: 4pt 4pt 6pt 5pt;"><code>&lt;BaseUrl&gt;/AvailableAuthMethods</code></td>
<td class="TableStyle-ti_IndentedBasicTable-BodyD-Column1-Body1">Returns a string with the list of configured authentication methods. The authentication methods are separated by semicolon.</td>
</tr>
</tbody>
</table>
zoltan__v
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2017 7:50 am

Re: Table resizing in PDF output

Postby zoltan__v on Thu Mar 16, 2017 4:57 am

@Kelly thanks for your input!
zoltan__v
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2017 7:50 am

Re: Table resizing in PDF output

Postby paintedturtle on Thu Mar 16, 2017 2:57 pm

zoltan__v wrote:
Robotman wrote:Can you display your code and ensure you include the table header and the first table row?


Here is the code of the first two lines:

Code: Select all
<table class="TableStyle-ti_IndentedBasicTable" style="mc-table-style: url('../Resources/TableStyles/Standard.css');" cellspacing="0">
<thead>
<tr class="TableStyle-ti_IndentedBasicTable-Head-Header1" style="height: 52px;">
<th class="TableStyle-ti_IndentedBasicTable-HeadE-Column1-Header1" style="mc-hyphenate: never; border-right-style: none; border-bottom-style: none; padding: 4pt 4pt 6pt 5pt;">HTTP Method</th>
<th class="TableStyle-ti_IndentedBasicTable-HeadE-Column1-Header1">URL</th>
<th class="TableStyle-ti_IndentedBasicTable-HeadD-Column1-Header1">Description</th>
</tr>
</thead>
<tbody>
<tr class="TableStyle-ti_IndentedBasicTable-Body-Body1">
<td class="TableStyle-ti_IndentedBasicTable-BodyE-Column1-Body1">GET</td>
<td class="TableStyle-ti_IndentedBasicTable-BodyE-Column1-Body1" style="mc-hyphenate: always; mc-hyphenate-shortest-word: 5; mc-hyphenate-shortest-prefix: 3; mc-hyphenate-shortest-suffix: 3; mc-hyphenate-maximum-adjacent-line-count: 4; border-right-style: none; border-bottom-style: none; padding: 4pt 4pt 6pt 5pt;"><code>&lt;BaseUrl&gt;/AvailableAuthMethods</code></td>
<td class="TableStyle-ti_IndentedBasicTable-BodyD-Column1-Body1">Returns a string with the list of configured authentication methods. The authentication methods are separated by semicolon.</td>
</tr>
</tbody>
</table>


This could be far off but: It looks like you're using a Table Style--have you tried right clicking on each column at the top of the XML editor, selecting Column Style at the bottom (the last option), and then select the column which has a set percentage width.

When I do this for each column, I've found my columns widths are less likely to change on its own. :o
Technical Writer using and experimenting with Flare version 12.0.5991.
paintedturtle
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed May 25, 2016 3:35 pm

Re: Table resizing in PDF output

Postby zoltan__v on Fri Mar 17, 2017 12:46 am

paintedturtle wrote:This could be far off but: It looks like you're using a Table Style--have you tried right clicking on each column at the top of the XML editor, selecting Column Style at the bottom (the last option), and then select the column which has a set percentage width.

When I do this for each column, I've found my columns widths are less likely to change on its own. :o


Yeah, I have tried the above but with no luck unfortunately. The output stays the same :(
zoltan__v
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2017 7:50 am

Re: Table resizing in PDF output

Postby iand on Tue Mar 21, 2017 11:00 am

This is a long standing bug which unfortunately has yet to be fixed. This is a problem for those of us who create documentation for programming example with e.g. long URL links or long lists of numbers / characters without a space e.g. for API keys, etc. Not splitting the text seems to take priority over column width setting whereas the opposite should be the case. Please submit a bug
iand
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 5:46 am
Location: London, England

Re: Table resizing in PDF output

Postby zoltan__v on Thu Mar 23, 2017 9:13 am

iand wrote:This is a long standing bug which unfortunately has yet to be fixed. This is a problem for those of us who create documentation for programming example with e.g. long URL links or long lists of numbers / characters without a space e.g. for API keys, etc. Not splitting the text seems to take priority over column width setting whereas the opposite should be the case. Please submit a bug


Thanks iand, I though it might be, but was hoping not... I will submit a bug.
zoltan__v
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2017 7:50 am

Re: Table resizing in PDF output

Postby johnnygreen on Tue May 02, 2017 4:02 am

Of all the bugs that I've encountered in MadCap Flare 10 that I've been using over the last few weeks, this is the most infuriating. I have spent days putting together a complex table with multiple code samples, and I find out at the end that I cannot control the column widths as I need in the printed output. I then have to resort to unprofessional workarounds such as decreasing font sizes, and so on.

I hope that the fix will make it into Flare 10 before too long.
johnnygreen
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 4:25 am

Re: Table resizing in PDF output

Postby Nita Beck on Tue May 02, 2017 4:09 am

johnnygreen wrote:Of all the bugs that I've encountered in MadCap Flare 10 that I've been using over the last few weeks, this is the most infuriating. I have spent days putting together a complex table with multiple code samples, and I find out at the end that I cannot control the column widths as I need in the printed output. I then have to resort to unprofessional workarounds such as decreasing font sizes, and so on.

I hope that the fix will make it into Flare 10 before too long.

I very much doubt that MadCap will go back to fix something in a version of Flare that is now several versions out of date. We're up to Flare 2017 (aka Flare 13) as of this writing. I'm not suggesting that Flare 11, 12, or 13 fixed the bug you're experiencing; would need to do some research on that and perhaps someone who does know can add to this discussion. Rather, I'm just saying that you shouldn't expect any bug fixes to Flare 10.
Nita
Image
Content Strategist / Information Architect / Flare Consultant: http://beck-communications.com
Manager, Rochester Flare User Group: http://www.facebook.com/RochesterFlareUserGroup
Nita Beck
Senior Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 2924
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 9:57 am
Location: Pittsford, NY

Re: Table resizing in PDF output

Postby RThompson on Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:28 pm

Nita Beck wrote:
johnnygreen wrote:Of all the bugs that I've encountered in MadCap Flare 10 that I've been using over the last few weeks, this is the most infuriating. I have spent days putting together a complex table with multiple code samples, and I find out at the end that I cannot control the column widths as I need in the printed output. I then have to resort to unprofessional workarounds such as decreasing font sizes, and so on.

I hope that the fix will make it into Flare 10 before too long.

I very much doubt that MadCap will go back to fix something in a version of Flare that is now several versions out of date. We're up to Flare 2017 (aka Flare 13) as of this writing. I'm not suggesting that Flare 11, 12, or 13 fixed the bug you're experiencing; would need to do some research on that and perhaps someone who does know can add to this discussion. Rather, I'm just saying that you shouldn't expect any bug fixes to Flare 10.


It's certainly not fixed in the latest version of Flare.

Flare is pretty awful when it comes to tables to be fair, but ignoring styles on print outputs is criminal.
RThompson
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 3:18 pm

Re: Table resizing in PDF output

Postby lytx_quanvu on Fri Jan 05, 2018 10:25 am

Glad to at least discover that I'm not crazy or inept when it comes to tables.

I know Flare is optimized for web output but a lot of companies are slow to transition or resistant to moving everything to web. I feel like I'll be working in PDF format for a long time. Wish Flare would prioritize issues like these.
lytx_quanvu
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2016 6:49 pm

Re: Table resizing in PDF output

Postby Valiant on Mon Jan 29, 2018 9:06 am

I've ran into the same issue. I've submitted a bug.
I need PDF output to supplement online output from this project.
If Flare can't put out an appropriate PDF file, I will be extremely disappointed.
Valiant
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 5:14 am

Re: Table resizing in PDF output

Postby Valiant on Tue Jan 30, 2018 5:20 am

Valiant wrote:I've ran into the same issue. I've submitted a bug.
I need PDF output to supplement online output from this project.
If Flare can't put out an appropriate PDF file, I will be extremely disappointed.

I was able to manually manipulate the contents of the table to make the output work. It was either that or to put the document into Framemaker.
I hope for a real fix.
Valiant
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 5:14 am


Return to Printed Documentation Targets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron