Removing unwanted sub-headings from PDF contents

This forum is for all Flare issues related to PDF, eBook, Microsoft Word, Adobe FrameMaker, XPS, and XHTML book targets.
simona
Propeller Head

Removing unwanted sub-headings from PDF contents

Post by simona »

Hi there!

I have been working with Flare for a while now and building our HTML5 (tri-pane) web target works like a charm. We have been kind of single-sourcing in that I also build a PDF target with every major release from the same project, using the same TOC. However, that PDF has been for internal eyeballs only. It never contained a contents page and I have never used a TOC proxy before.

Now we have a new big customer and suddenly I need to create a proper printable PDF that is good enough for external eyeballs. ASAP, of course.

So far, I have wrapped my head around a few basic facts:
  • TOC proxies do exist.
  • I _can_ use the same TOC for both targets but they will not automatically create the same structure in PDF and web.
  • Advanced target settings include the nice little option "Use TOC depth for heading levels". I am using that now because I do want my web build and my PDF build to have the exact same structure.
  • My PDF TOC will kindly include as many heading levels as I want, provided I edit the mc-heading-level for H1 through H6 print mediums accordingly in my css file.
I ran a few test builds and did manage to include the print contents topic in my PDF output. Alas, my web TOC is 4 levels deep, but not for every book. There are nodes that are only 3 levels deep and consequently the sub-headings from inside these topics now also show up in my PDF contents as mc-heading-level 4. We do not want that (these sub-headings are: Context / Preconditions / Procedure / Result. For every topic).