Should I create a Word target INSTEAD of PDF?

This forum is for all Flare issues related to PDF, eBook, Microsoft Word, Adobe FrameMaker, XPS, and XHTML book targets.
Curlyshell
Propeller Head

Should I create a Word target INSTEAD of PDF?

Post by Curlyshell »

Flare's PDF target seems so full of bugs, I'm considering creating a Word target instead and then exporting from PDF to Word. (I'm lucky to have Adobe Acrobat).

Flare has trouble rendering styled text (see viewtopic.php?f=10&t=32013), and the TOC is funky (see viewtopic.php?f=10&t=27679), and now I can't get images with borders to do anything right at all.

But before I embark on what's likely to be a similarly rocky journey—as all MadCap journeys seem to be—can anyone tell me how bad it is to create Word targets that actually work?

I appreciate your insights!
"I'm a technical writer, not a developer," she said...
ChoccieMuffin
Senior Propellus Maximus

Re: Should I create a Word target INSTEAD of PDF?

Post by ChoccieMuffin »

All I can say is, Flare and Word don't play nice. So don't expect to get anything like pretty in your Word output - you'll probably end up having to do lots of post-export formatting in Word before you can create a PDF.

(Can you tell I really don't like Word? ;) )

I hope you get some comments that are a bit more useful than that, but I'm just warning that you aren't suggesting a simple solution.
Started as a newbie with Flare 6.1, now using Flare 2023.
Report bugs at http://www.madcapsoftware.com/bugs/submit.aspx.
Request features at https://www.madcapsoftware.com/feedback ... quest.aspx
smajors
Sr. Propeller Head

Post by smajors »

I use the Word target rarely and only for one-off documents that don't necessarily need to be housed in my Flare project and don't need to be linked or cross-referenced anywhere (because it doesn't need to be published from Flare to any of my publishing targets like html).