Another "Break by Topic" question

This forum is for all Flare issues related to PDF, eBook, Microsoft Word, Adobe FrameMaker, XPS, and XHTML book targets.
Dawn
Propeller Head

Another "Break by Topic" question

Post by Dawn »

Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new to Flare, so please forgive me if this is a lame question. I've read through the other questions/answers about this same issue, but haven't found what I'm looking for.

I have a situation where some of my topics start with H2, some with H3, and some with H4. I can't, however, change my stylesheet to break before each of those heading levels because sometimes those heading levels are WITHIN a topic where I do NOT want it to break. (There's a reason for this that is too long and boring to explain. Suffice to say that it needs to stay that way.)

Bottom line is that when I print to PDF, I want my project to break by TOPIC, so that each new topic starts on a new page, regardless of heading level.

(By the way, I found that when my CSS was set to insert a page break before H2, the heading printed twice with a page break between them, but this did not happen for topics that started with H3. Weird, huh???)

Anyway, is there a way, without defining breaks in my CSS, to have my project break by topic when printing to PDF?

Thanks,
Dawn
LTinker68
Master Propellus Maximus

Re: Another "Break by Topic" question

Post by LTinker68 »

In the Flare Help, go to User Interface Elements - How to Use Each One > Properties Dialog (TOC). There's something in there about specifying that a TOC entry start a new chapter. I think that's what you're looking for.

Lisa
Eagles may soar, but weasels aren't sucked into jet engines.
Warning! Loose nut behind the keyboard.
Dawn
Propeller Head

Post by Dawn »

Hi Lisa,

Thanks for the quick response. I'm running Flare version 3.1.0 and don't see the option that you're talking about. Could it be named something else in my version or located somewhere other than Help?

Thanks,
Dawn
KevinDAmery