drop downs in print

This forum is for all Flare issues related to PDF, eBook, Microsoft Word, Adobe FrameMaker, XPS, and XHTML book targets.
Post Reply
DurtyMat
Sr. Propeller Head
Posts: 224
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 8:09 am
Location: ClrH2o, Fl

drop downs in print

Post by DurtyMat »

is there a way to remove the drop down section of a drop-down hotspot but still include the contents of the drop down?

-----------------------

example:

Screen Shot <- drp down hotspot
<img>panda bear </img>
piccaption
<end of drp dwn>

-------------------------

i tried to condition out the drp down hotspot/head but it removes the entire drop down ... any suggestions :D thanks and have a great 3 day weekend!
Flare: I bought it ... so that means I can break it, right?
KevinDAmery
Propellus Maximus
Posts: 1985
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 8:18 am
Location: Darn, I knew I was around here somewhere...

Re: drop downs in print

Post by KevinDAmery »

Do you mean remove permanently or just for certain output targets? If you mean permanently, you can try right clicking on the dropdown block and choosing Unbind - however, Flare does have an unfriendly habit of deleting the contents of a tag when it unbinds in some cases, so be prepared to undo :)

EDIT: Ok, I think I misread the question. You just want this for print, right?

If so, what I would do is, instead of using a dropdown use a Toggler. Togglers work virtually identically to dropdowns, with the exception that the tags don't enclose the content. Instead, you name a tag (like the p tag that the image is included in) then tell the toggler to expand or collapse the named element. The advantage of this for your purposes is you can condition out the toggler line in print and it won't condition out the image. I use this all the time for screen shots in my documentation and it works beautifully.
Until next time....
Image
Kevin Amery
Certified MAD for Flare
DurtyMat
Sr. Propeller Head
Posts: 224
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 8:09 am
Location: ClrH2o, Fl

Re: drop downs in print

Post by DurtyMat »

i just don't want the drop down hotspot text to not display i want the actual contents of the drop down to be displayed however.

my team is debating about using drop downs for the images in our help systems, but considering we use the same content for our printed docs we don't want, image/screen shot/what does this window look like?/etc to appear on the print output. obviously we could include the screen shot in the topic by itself w/o a drpdwn and condition it for print only and drop down for online only but i was hoping to bypass the "easy" fix and get a more complicated fix that involved less conditions and more code/options :D
Flare: I bought it ... so that means I can break it, right?
KevinDAmery
Propellus Maximus
Posts: 1985
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 8:18 am
Location: Darn, I knew I was around here somewhere...

Re: drop downs in print

Post by KevinDAmery »

Exactly, that's what I do. I apply a Toggler that controls the appearance / absence of the image in the online output. For print output, I condition out the toggler text because it's irrelevant. The image appears in the print output without me having to explicitly do anything. So:

- Online: by default the image is hidden, if the user clicks on the toggler text it's shown
- Print: the toggler text is not present, the image is present
Until next time....
Image
Kevin Amery
Certified MAD for Flare
DurtyMat
Sr. Propeller Head
Posts: 224
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 8:09 am
Location: ClrH2o, Fl

Re: drop downs in print

Post by DurtyMat »

i apparently missed this:
KevinDAmery wrote: If so, what I would do is, instead of using a dropdown use a Toggler. Togglers work virtually identically to dropdowns, with the exception that the tags don't enclose the content. Instead, you name a tag (like the p tag that the image is included in) then tell the toggler to expand or collapse the named element. The advantage of this for your purposes is you can condition out the toggler line in print and it won't condition out the image. I use this all the time for screen shots in my documentation and it works beautifully.
i will give it a shot :D thanks for the help with this...
Flare: I bought it ... so that means I can break it, right?
KevinDAmery
Propellus Maximus
Posts: 1985
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 8:18 am
Location: Darn, I knew I was around here somewhere...

Re: drop downs in print

Post by KevinDAmery »

To make things clearer, here's a code sample:

Code: Select all

        <p>When you select the Properties item, the Edit Product Properties dialog box opens. </p>
        <p MadCap:conditions="Default.ScreenOnly">
            <MadCap:toggler targets="Edit_product_properties">Click to view image</MadCap:toggler>
        </p>
        <p MadCap:targetName="Edit_product_properties" class="no_indent">
            <img src="../../Resources/Images/Workbook_properties.png" />
        </p>
Until next time....
Image
Kevin Amery
Certified MAD for Flare
DurtyMat
Sr. Propeller Head
Posts: 224
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 8:09 am
Location: ClrH2o, Fl

Re: drop downs in print

Post by DurtyMat »

oh em gee

this is pretty sweet. thanks for this tid bit o' info it does exactly what i needed ... er ... team needed :D
Flare: I bought it ... so that means I can break it, right?
DurtyMat
Sr. Propeller Head
Posts: 224
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 8:09 am
Location: ClrH2o, Fl

Re: drop downs in print

Post by DurtyMat »

turns out you can condition the drop down tag out. try this code sometime:

Code: Select all

<body>
        <h2>peace up a town down</h2>
        <p> </p>
        <MadCap:dropDown>
            <MadCap:dropDownHead>
                <MadCap:dropDownHotspot MadCap:conditions="Default.ScreenOnly">(This is the Drop-down Hotspot)</MadCap:dropDownHotspot>
            </MadCap:dropDownHead>
            <MadCap:dropDownBody>
                <p>(This is the Drop-down text)</p>
                <p> </p>
            </MadCap:dropDownBody>
        </MadCap:dropDown>
        <p> </p>
        <p MadCap:conditions="Default.ScreenOnly">
            <MadCap:toggler targets="toggle-ex">toggle things</MadCap:toggler>.</p>
        <p MadCap:targetName="toggle-ex">THIS IS SOME TEXT</p>
    </body>
Flare: I bought it ... so that means I can break it, right?
Post Reply