2 Questions about Variables and formatting them

This forum is for all Flare related Tips and Tricks.
Have a tip or trick you use while working in Flare? Share it here.
Shellslark
Jr. Propeller Head

2 Questions about Variables and formatting them

Post by Shellslark »

I'm a Flare newbie that's working on a long-standing doc set that was imported from FrameMaker. This is my first Flare project and I'm working as a free-lancer.

I have two questions about variables:

1) How do I apply different styles to the variable text so that it matches the text on the rest of the line? Several variables are so common that they need to be formatted to match the body text, the heading text, menu item text, etc. Is there a trick to fixing this quickly or do I need to define different variable styles for the different style situations and manually re-insert the corrected variable format in each instance?

2) I have 2 variables that are so ubiquitous that I'd like to convert them back to plain text. The terminology is unlikely to change in the future. Is there a way to find and replace those variables automatically?

Thanks for your expertise!
sfoley
Propeller Head

Re: 2 Questions about Variables and formatting them

Post by sfoley »

Shellslark wrote:1) How do I apply different styles to the variable text so that it matches the text on the rest of the line? Several variables are so common that they need to be formatted to match the body text, the heading text, menu item text, etc. Is there a trick to fixing this quickly or do I need to define different variable styles for the different style situations and manually re-insert the corrected variable format in each instance?