Line breaks in Imagemap Screen Tips?

This forum is for all Flare related Tips and Tricks.
Have a tip or trick you use while working in Flare? Share it here.

Line breaks in Imagemap Screen Tips?

Postby bgilliland on Fri Jan 19, 2018 5:26 am

Looking to simplify a workflow and put useful info in the imagemap screen tip that serves both as the tooltip hover text and screen reader alt text.

For tooltip readability, I really need the option to insert a line break or two. I know this is (mostly) possible in the real world using a line break in the html file, but I can't insert one into the Screen Tip field in Flare.

I've tried every variation of &#10 and &#13 I can think of, but those still come through as actual characters in the tooltip. I'm even trying it with using a variable for a line break.

ScreenTip_LineBreaks.png

Ideas? Anyone done something like this before?

(ps - I know that I could link to popups from the imagemap, but I just have too many files I would have to create on dozens of imagemaps, and would prefer to just use the tooltip text for now)

Thanks!

Beth
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
bgilliland
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 12:44 pm

Re: Line breaks in Imagemap Screen Tips?

Postby trent the thief on Fri Jan 19, 2018 5:31 am

Hi Beth,

I believe you need to also add the semi-colon. Try "
"

If not, try "

" together.
Trent.

Certifiable.

Image

umm..
I meant MAD Certified.

Official Propeller Beanie Owner :-)
trent the thief
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 447
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 6:21 am
Location: Off in the dark....

Re: Line breaks in Imagemap Screen Tips?

Postby bgilliland on Fri Jan 19, 2018 6:14 am

Thanks - I guess I typed a little fast on that one, but I had tried with semi-colons as well. Also tried on your suggestion combining the two - but still no dice. The result is just the characters printing directly in the tooltip (i.e. - "...Season

Production...")
bgilliland
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 12:44 pm

Re: Line breaks in Imagemap Screen Tips?

Postby Dave Lee on Fri Jan 19, 2018 7:06 am

bgilliland wrote:Thanks - I guess I typed a little fast on that one, but I had tried with semi-colons as well. Also tried on your suggestion combining the two - but still no dice. The result is just the characters printing directly in the tooltip (i.e. - "...Season

Production...")


Try going to Text Editor view and entering that code directly in the title and alt properties - 
 or 
 worked for me.
Dave Lee
Master Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 5657
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:33 am
Location: UK

Re: Line breaks in Imagemap Screen Tips?

Postby trent the thief on Fri Jan 19, 2018 9:19 am

I haven't figured a way to do this from a styleheet, but from the text editor add this:

style="white-space: pre-line;"

to the <Area> element for your imagemap. That lets the &#13; function as expected. The tool tip will break where you've dropped the &#13. It's a workaround until someone finds the "works ever time" answer. It possible to style area tags, bu tI haven't figured out how to do so from a stylesheet.

If you only need it as a workaround for a handful of tags, it's better than nothing.

Image


Image
Trent.

Certifiable.

Image

umm..
I meant MAD Certified.

Official Propeller Beanie Owner :-)
trent the thief
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 447
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 6:21 am
Location: Off in the dark....

Re: Line breaks in Imagemap Screen Tips?

Postby bgilliland on Fri Jan 19, 2018 12:33 pm

Thanks all for your suggestions! I really needed the hack *not* to be at the individual page level (like your suggestion of editing the title, Dave) - but instead to be usable across hundreds of screentips on dozens of pages. So I worked for quite awhile this morning after posting on using variables (since those are "allowed" in Screen Tips) and finally hit the jackpot!

I edited a new variable .flvar XML file directly in Notepad++ as it seemed to be the only way to put in an actual CRLF that would be read by the browser as a line break. The really interesting part is that when the build runs, I can view the page source to see that the CRLF was converted into &#xA; which is the only way I've seen the browser allow a line break in the tooltip. I was not able to get Flare to honor *only* a line break in the variable, so I also added a bullet, which actually works perfectly for my situation.

screentip_break_yes.png

So as long as no one edits my variables from the Flare interface, I should be golden! Thanks for all the tips and tricks here and throughout the forums - I knew I was right to ask here first!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
bgilliland
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 12:44 pm

Re: Line breaks in Imagemap Screen Tips?

Postby trent the thief on Fri Jan 26, 2018 9:45 am

That tip is archive worthy!! Very well done! :!:
Trent.

Certifiable.

Image

umm..
I meant MAD Certified.

Official Propeller Beanie Owner :-)
trent the thief
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 447
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 6:21 am
Location: Off in the dark....


Return to Tips and Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests