How to set conditional tags to multiple blocks of the text

This forum is for all Flare related Tips and Tricks.
Have a tip or trick you use while working in Flare? Share it here.

How to set conditional tags to multiple blocks of the text

Postby nivanova on Fri Jul 19, 2019 4:57 am

Dear all,
I work with big tables and I get bored setting conditional tags to table rows one by one.
Is there any way to accelerate the process - to select multiple rows and set the conditional tag to them in one step?

Thank you for your help
nivanova
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2019 3:16 am

Re: How to set conditional tags to multiple blocks of the te

Postby ChoccieMuffin on Wed Jul 24, 2019 7:48 am

Welcome to the forums. Sorry for any delay, for some reason I didn't see your post.

I have just checked, and I don't have to apply conditions one row at a time. If you highlight the multiple rows you want to apply the condition to in the XML Editor you can apply a condition (Crtl+Shift+C is the shortcut) and the condition is applied to every row. So you don't have to select the rows using the blocks on the left, as you have already noticed you can't select more than one row that way.

Hope that helps.
Started as a newbie with Flare 6.1, now using Flare 2019r1.
Report bugs at http://www.madcapsoftware.com/bugs/submit.aspx.
Request features at https://www.madcapsoftware.com/feedback ... quest.aspx
ChoccieMuffin
Senior Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 2121
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 8:01 am
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: How to set conditional tags to multiple blocks of the te

Postby nivanova on Mon Aug 05, 2019 4:36 am

ChoccieMuffin wrote:Welcome to the forums. Sorry for any delay, for some reason I didn't see your post.

I have just checked, and I don't have to apply conditions one row at a time. If you highlight the multiple rows you want to apply the condition to in the XML Editor you can apply a condition (Crtl+Shift+C is the shortcut) and the condition is applied to every row. So you don't have to select the rows using the blocks on the left, as you have already noticed you can't select more than one row that way.

Hope that helps.


Dear expert,
Thank you very much for the hint. It was
My next question is - how to highlight the multiple rows if they are scattered in the table ( do not follow one another)? Is there any equivalent of the Ctrl key as in Excel?

With best regards,
NI
nivanova
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2019 3:16 am

Re: How to set conditional tags to multiple blocks of the te

Postby Feebeegeebee on Wed Aug 07, 2019 2:27 am

Hi Nivanova,
As far as I know, it is not possible to do a multiple selection of rows scattered throughout a table. You could submit a feature request (https://www.madcapsoftware.com/feedback ... quest.aspx) to see if the Ctrl key could be adapted to do this.

However, what might make things slightly quicker is if you go to the Project Organizer, expand the Conditional Text folder until you can see your specific tag.
Then in the XML Editor, highlight your table row and just drag and drop the tag from the Project Organizer onto that highlighted row.
It should make it quicker to apply tags to rows, as you go down through your table(s).

Hope that makes things a bit easier.
Regards,
Feebeegeebee
------------------------------------------------------
Using Flare 2019 on Windows 10 (64-bit)
------------------------------------------------------
Feebeegeebee
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 8:38 am
Location: UK

Re: How to set conditional tags to multiple blocks of the te

Postby nivanova on Thu Aug 08, 2019 9:30 am

Dear Feebeegeebee,
Thanks for the Drag&Drop hint. It greatly speeds-up the condition setting. I will share this knowledge with my team.

Have a nice day!
Regards,
NI
nivanova
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2019 3:16 am

Re: How to set conditional tags to multiple blocks of the te

Postby Feebeegeebee on Fri Aug 09, 2019 2:46 am

Very happy to be able to help! :D
------------------------------------------------------
Using Flare 2019 on Windows 10 (64-bit)
------------------------------------------------------
Feebeegeebee
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 8:38 am
Location: UK

Re: How to set conditional tags to multiple blocks of the te

Postby ChoccieMuffin on Wed Sep 04, 2019 9:04 am

Not sure, but if you apply the condition to one row, then highlight another and press F8 (repeat last action) that might work. Haven't tried it yet, but worth giving it a go.
Started as a newbie with Flare 6.1, now using Flare 2019r1.
Report bugs at http://www.madcapsoftware.com/bugs/submit.aspx.
Request features at https://www.madcapsoftware.com/feedback ... quest.aspx
ChoccieMuffin
Senior Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 2121
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 8:01 am
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: How to set conditional tags to multiple blocks of the te

Postby JRtechw on Thu Sep 12, 2019 8:42 pm

What a handy little shortcut! Thanks fgbg.

It even works on span-level conditioning. Select the text you want to apply to, and drag and drop to the selected text.
JRtechw
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2017 8:08 pm


Return to Tips and Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest