List numbers in a PDF output

This forum is for all Flare issues not related to any of the other categories.

List numbers in a PDF output

Postby spatte22 on Tue Oct 16, 2018 2:48 pm

Hey there,

I uploaded an image of an odd issue I'm having. I've done a fair bit of research from a general Google search, but haven't found anything remotely relevant (styling PDFs with html/css isn't the most common thing in the world...).

Let me explain the attached screenshot:
The middle of the image shows a pagebreak in the pdf. This pagebreak separates the #2 <li>. For some reason, the actual #2 icon repeats on the new page, even though it shouldn't (it's all part of the same <li>). This makes the task list look like it has two step 2's, and that the information on the next page is somehow a separate step.

Any ideas of a property that I can use to avoid this? I have a quick-fix, which is adding a pagebreak to bump the entire step #2 onto the new page, but for the document overall, I'd rather have longer <li>'s be able to span from one page to another.

Thanks!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
spatte22
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2018 11:50 am

Re: List numbers in a PDF output

Postby ajturnersurrey on Wed Oct 17, 2018 2:05 am

I've been noticing something related, where my <li> list item contains a couple of paragraphs and a div.
This can make the list item number appear beside the last item in the set, rather than the first.
To correct this confusion I put everything in the list item inside one div, so the structure looks like:

Code: Select all
<li>
   <div>
      <p>content 1</p>
      <div>content 2</div>
      <p>content 3</p>
   </div>
</li>
ajturnersurrey
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 290
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 3:30 am

Re: List numbers in a PDF output

Postby Psider on Wed Oct 17, 2018 4:12 pm

You could try 'page-break-inside: avoid' on the li element.
Psider
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 466
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 1:32 am

Re: List numbers in a PDF output

Postby spatte22 on Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:39 pm

Ah, that's a good idea, aj, I'll have to see if that was related to the issue!

@Psider - I've tried toying around with page breaks, but ultimately it doesn't work well since some steps have a decent chunk of content that I wouldn't want to bump to the next page.


I sorta "hacked" the issue (or rather, found a workaround) by simply adding in manual MadCap Pagebreaks to make it sort of work. There are one or two spots in my document that could have better spacing, but whatever, it worked well enough for the timeline I was given :P.
spatte22
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2018 11:50 am


Return to Flare's General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests