Glossaries - can I add columns?

This forum is for all Flare issues not related to any of the other categories.

Glossaries - can I add columns?

Postby lizat on Fri Mar 20, 2015 11:45 am

Hi madcaps,

Is it possible to add columns to a glossary. I am thinking that it may be useful to have an abbreviation column and also is there a way to handle synonyms?

Thank you........................liz
lizat
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 282
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 3:49 am
Location: London, UK

Re: Glossaries - can I add columns?

Postby Nita Beck on Fri Mar 20, 2015 4:22 pm

I don't believe that the glossary editor is designed to do either.

The way I handle synonyms is that, either in the definition of the term as entered right in the glossary editor, or in a topic holding the definition to which I point the term, I write something like "Also referred to as blah blah". Or I'll include something like "See blah blah".

But as far as I know, there is no automated way to provide synonyms for glossary terms, the way one can provide synonyms for index terms, and there is no way to add an extra column to the glossary editor.
Nita
Image
Content Strategist / Information Architect / Flare Consultant: http://beck-communications.com
Manager, Rochester Flare User Group: http://www.facebook.com/RochesterFlareUserGroup
Nita Beck
Senior Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 3254
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 9:57 am
Location: Pittsford, NY

Re: Glossaries - can I add columns?

Postby Louise Bennett on Wed May 22, 2019 6:47 pm

Hey Nita,

Revisiting this old topic, I was wondering whether Flare now has a way to link those 'see also' items you may want to include in a glossary term definition? Otherwise, how do the users navigate to the definition of the 'see also' term?

Thanks, Louise.
Louise Bennett
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 7:53 pm

Re: Glossaries - can I add columns?

Postby doc_guy on Fri May 24, 2019 1:07 pm

Louise, what is your target type? Are we talking about an online output glossary, or are we talking about PDF?

Also, even though the question is several years old, I wanted to answer the OP question about columns, in case somebody comes across this question later and is looking for an answer. If you want columns in PDF glossary output, what you do is create a new page layout. You can either have one body element and set, in the properties, the number of columns you want, or you can actually create multiple body elements and then you control the flow of how the content will flow from one body element to the other. So there are two different ways to do that from the page layout screen. Then you set the page layout on the TOC item. We use two-column page layouts for our glossary and index pages.
User avatar
doc_guy
Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 1946
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 11:18 am
Location: Crossroads of the West


Return to Flare's General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests