Google Translate

This forum is for all Flare issues not related to any of the other categories.

Google Translate

Postby Techno on Fri Jun 04, 2021 6:10 pm

Given our move to HTML5, and software which is used in over 200 languages, is there any way we can invoke the likes of Google Translate to translate Topics into another language?
George Bell
Techno-Vision Systems Ltd., U.K.
Techno
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 9:23 pm
Location: NORTHAMPTON, England, UK

Re: Google Translate

Postby doloremipsum on Mon Jun 07, 2021 6:08 pm

Have a look at Madcap Lingo: you can import a project from Flare, translate using machine or human translation, then export a translated Flare project.
neque porro quisquam est qui dolorem ipsum quia dolor sit amet, consectetur, adipisci velit - sed saepe cum dolor apud multos callidos mutuetur, reduci potest.
doloremipsum
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 184
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2019 2:11 pm

Re: Google Translate

Postby Techno on Tue Jun 08, 2021 1:28 am

Yes, I know about MadCap Lingo. Sorry, but I've not made myself clear.

It is the Topic/page in our project being viewed that currently we are able to click on a "Translate" button, and the text will appear in the selected language. We have this working fine with Flare's generated *.chm.

However we understand that Flare 2021 will be the last version to support *.chm files, and need to consider how best to translate pages in WebHelp or whatever becomes the norm.
George Bell
Techno-Vision Systems Ltd., U.K.
Techno
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 9:23 pm
Location: NORTHAMPTON, England, UK

Re: Google Translate

Postby Dave Lee on Tue Jun 08, 2021 2:30 am

Techno wrote:However we understand that Flare 2021 will be the last version to support *.chm files, and need to consider how best to translate pages in WebHelp or whatever becomes the norm.


Where did you hear that?

I don't think MadCap have mentioned CHM as an upcoming deprecated feature - just the ancient WebHelp and WebHelp Plus - see: https://help.madcapsoftware.com/flare20 ... atures.htm
Mind, CHM is extremely old, so I'd suggest using HTML5 help anyway if there's no technical reason for using CHM.

In my experience, Google Chrome will automatically invoke Google Translate when it detects a foreign language site.
Dave Lee
Master Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 5980
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:33 am
Location: UK

Re: Google Translate

Postby Psider on Tue Jun 08, 2021 5:53 pm

How do you do it in chm? It's certainly not something built in, so I'd imagine whatever custom solution you have could be adapted to HTML5. (Or it might even be easier, given HTML5 is modern standard html, css and js)
Psider
Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 689
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 1:32 am

Re: Google Translate

Postby Dave Lee on Wed Jun 09, 2021 12:55 am

If you use the Chrome or Edge browsers to open a standard HTML5 output that's marked as being a different language to your own, then both browsers automatically ask you if you want to translate the page.
So you don't really need to do anything - just use a browser that has built-in translation.
Dave Lee
Master Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 5980
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:33 am
Location: UK


Return to Flare's General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests