Slide-in/Slide-out to fixed?

This forum is for all Flare issues not related to any of the other categories.
Post Reply
Perrorist
Propeller Head
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 4:04 pm
Location: Central Coast, NSW

Slide-in/Slide-out to fixed?

Post by Perrorist »

I have a TopNav project using the Slide-out navigation menu on the left-hand side and the client wants this to become fixed. I can't find a setting to do this.

If it's not possible to have this remain in the Slide-in position, can it be deleted or suppressed?
NorthEast
Master Propellus Maximus
Posts: 6365
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:33 am

Re: Slide-in/Slide-out to fixed?

Post by NorthEast »

The slide-out menu can't be fixed.

If your client wants a permanent side menu, then perhaps:
* Use the tripane skin.
* Set up a master page with two columns, containing the menu proxy (not context sensitive) and the body proxy.

Not sure what you mean by suppressing the menu, but you can adjust the responsive breakpoints in the skin to choose when it changes from a normal (drop-down) menu to a slide-in menu.
Perrorist
Propeller Head
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 4:04 pm
Location: Central Coast, NSW

Re: Slide-in/Slide-out to fixed?

Post by Perrorist »

Thanks, Dave. I had a feeling it wasn't going to be easy. The tripane skin disables other features we're using, so I'll need to look at the two-column approach.
NorthEast
Master Propellus Maximus
Posts: 6365
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:33 am

Re: Slide-in/Slide-out to fixed?

Post by NorthEast »

Perrorist wrote:Thanks, Dave. I had a feeling it wasn't going to be easy. The tripane skin disables other features we're using, so I'll need to look at the two-column approach.
Creating columns is fairly easy - you could add a new Responsive Layout, or just use the Foundation Grid classes which are already included in HTML5 outputs.
Perrorist
Propeller Head
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 4:04 pm
Location: Central Coast, NSW

Re: Slide-in/Slide-out to fixed?

Post by Perrorist »

Dave, I've looked at the Foundation classes from Zurb, but when I applied this piece of sample code, it wasn't accepted by Flare. Does that mean not all the classes are included?

Code: Select all

<div class="row" data-equalizer data-equalize-on="medium" id="test-eq">
			<div class="medium-4 columns">
				<div class="callout" data-equalizer-watch>
					<img src= "//foundation.zurb.com/sites/docs/assets/img/generic/square-1.jpg">
				</div>
			</div>
			<div class="medium-4 columns">
				<div class="callout" data-equalizer-watch>
					<p>Pellentesque habitant morbi tristique senectus et netus et, ante.</p>
				</div>
			</div>
			<div class="medium-4 columns">
				<div class="callout" data-equalizer-watch>
					<img src= "//foundation.zurb.com/sites/docs/assets/img/generic/rectangle-1.jpg">
				</div>
			</div>
		</div>		
NorthEast
Master Propellus Maximus
Posts: 6365
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:33 am

Re: Slide-in/Slide-out to fixed?

Post by NorthEast »

Perrorist wrote:Dave, I've looked at the Foundation classes from Zurb, but when I applied this piece of sample code, it wasn't accepted by Flare. Does that mean not all the classes are included?
Not all of Foundation is included, but the Foundation Grid classes are: http://foundation.zurb.com/sites/docs/grid.html

Your grid classes will work, but you can't use things like the equalizer and callout classes that you added.

The reason that Flare didn't accept your code is because although it's valid HTML, it is not valid XHTML.

Properties in XHTML must have a value, even if it's empty.
For example, you can't use
<div class="row" data-equalizer ..
it would have to be
<div class="row" data-equalizer="" ..
Perrorist
Propeller Head
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 4:04 pm
Location: Central Coast, NSW

Re: Slide-in/Slide-out to fixed?

Post by Perrorist »

Once again, thanks for your help, Dave. My education continues...
Post Reply