Annotated Images

This forum is for all Flare issues not related to any of the other categories.
Madeline
Propeller Head

Annotated Images

Post by Madeline »

hi,

I'm just getting started with Flare (day 3 of the trial) and just looking at our images and how that would work. We currently have a lot of images we annotate with arrows and text boxes in Word. From what I can tell we'll need Madcap Capture or do this externally and then save the whole image and insert? Option 2 will leave us with translation issues though. Do people generally use Madcap Capture when they need to annotate images and translate? Or can this be done within Flare topics themselves?

Thanks
Madeline
venturil
Jr. Propeller Head

Re: Annotated Images

Post by venturil »

Hi

Capture will indeed allow you to fit the translation of text boxes and localisation of images in an integrated workflow with Lingo.

We have the Madpak suite but to be honest I decided to bypass Capture for the time being (first months of transitioning to Flare). The reason is simple: it seems to me that Capture is basically designed to mostly caption screenshots of software interfaces. I'm sure this is great for people documenting software and publishing to HTML.
However we do not make software and I mostly publish to PDF. I like using vector images because I have access to plenty of those and they allow me to work to a higher standard for what I have to do.

Unfortunately I found Capture was severly lacking for my needs, or at least I haven't found a way to integrate it nicely.

What I personally do: I removed all text from my eps files (that I make and edit with a widely used vector graphics software) and only add numbered callouts, which I then list in a table in Flare below the image, when needed. This way images are good for all languages (in general you do not want to swap images when localising content) and the text is handled nicely in Flare and Lingo.