Best Practices for Flare, Subversion, and Copying a Project

This forum is for all Flare issues not related to any of the other categories.
Mishou6779
Propeller Head

Best Practices for Flare, Subversion, and Copying a Project

Post by Mishou6779 »

Hi all,

Backstory: I work at a software company, I am a lone writer, I use Flare 2018, and just recently started using Subversion for source control.

I have always "cut" one help build from the last. When I got here we were on 4, from 4 I cut 5, from 5 I cut 6, and so on. That was before we used source control.

Our current version of our main product is numbered 7, and within the last couple of months we started using Subversion, so help build 7 is in Subversion. At the end of the year we will launch version number 8. Our Dev team has already been coding 8 for a couple of months now. Our product is huge and the help contains many files (upwards of 1,400). Before we sunset version 7, there will be some overlap between 7 and 8. So I might have a file with one name but it's in two different flare projects, one for version 7 and one for version 8. The stinker is that when we have a support pack or a hot fix release it's very likely that if we had to fix something in 7 then we have to fix it in 8 too. So then I will have two different places to go to update the online help accordingly. This will increase the possibility of mistakes getting published.