On-the-fly conditional content in Flare online output?

This forum is for all Flare issues not related to any of the other categories.

On-the-fly conditional content in Flare online output?

Postby chuck_agari on Fri Jul 13, 2018 1:56 pm

There's a content development tool called ProProfs Knowledge Base, a SaaS tool that I used at my last job. One feature that it offers, and why it's in the consideration mix for the content development tool in my new job, it that it can, at least according to its docs, provide on-the-fly conditional content.

Read about it here: https://knowledgebase.proprofs.com/intr ... al-content

Basically, content can be filtered based on a number of criteria, including the two I'm interested in: URL parameter and SSO parameter. This allows me to, for example, develop and tag a content set so that, for example, users who can only view in an app, meaning that they have just a "view" role, would see only help content for what they can do, while an admin, who also has an admin role, would see additional content, such as how to configure the app. Or, for example the app is white labeled, and a partner wants their own branding and naming, so based on brand SSO parameters, the branding and naming in the help can be different.

Can any of Flare's online output be configured to provide this type of functionality, and if so, where do I read about how it works and how it's coded/configured in any of the user guides?
chuck_agari
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed May 30, 2018 2:40 pm

Re: On-the-fly conditional content in Flare online output?

Postby Psider on Sun Jul 15, 2018 5:57 pm

It sounds like ProProfs is a hosting solution as well as a documentation tool, so it has integrated tools to handle the server side permissioning? In which case, maybe Central has the features you're looking for? I haven't used it myself, so can't provide any guidance.

Otherwise, you can set up manual filters that users select for themselves. https://help.madcapsoftware.com/flare20 ... xample.htm

Hosting on your own server, you'd have to work with your own developers and IT to set up a user permissioning solution. It might be possible, as from memory, condition codes will make it into the output assuming you don't set up a build condition. But, yeah, custom solution.
Psider
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 475
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 1:32 am

Re: On-the-fly conditional content in Flare online output?

Postby Dave Lee on Wed Jul 18, 2018 2:47 am

chuck_agari wrote:Can any of Flare's online output be configured to provide this type of functionality, and if so, where do I read about how it works and how it's coded/configured in any of the user guides?


In short, no - you can't produce a single output from Flare, and dynamically hide/show content based on conditions, so that it behaves like using two separate outputs with conditions.

The longer answer is maybe. You could tag content with conditions (or classes, or data attributes), and use a bit of scripting and CSS to hide/show that tagged content. I do this in one of my projects. That works ok for content inside a topic, but it wouldn't be a complete solution and behave like separate outputs. For example, you couldn't hide parts of the menu, and everything is still included in the search results.
Dave Lee
Master Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 5399
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:33 am
Location: UK


Return to Flare's General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests