Complete Noob - Need Help

This forum is for all Flare issues not related to any of the other categories.
Frustet
Jr. Propeller Head

Complete Noob - Need Help

Post by Frustet »

Hello all.

I am totally new to Flare (less than 1 month) and my colleague is not much of a help either. I am currently reading the documentation and watching some tutorials, but I would appreciate any help in the below questions since I am expected to work with it now.

We have multiple projects with numerous TOCs and different outputs. There are two of us, using the same source and we commit to a Tortoise SVN repo, but just for backup (at least that's what I was told) I'll use an example to give you an idea.

We have a Flare project called Android, about the Android OS (not really). It has:
- the main TOC for the basic functionality of the latest OS version
- TOC for a limited free OS version
- TOC for a licensed OS version with extra functionalities
- different TOCs (more than 20) for specific brands that all have additional/missing functionalities from the basic OS
All of the above have outputs in PDF, HTML5 and some of them have other output formats as well.

My first question is, do you think that the above setup makes sense or should we split them and use different projects for each doc? They all share content (images, topics, snippets, styles, etc.).

2nd question, and my main concern, is versioning.
This is an example of how my colleague works:
Say the current version of the basic OS guide is 5. Most of the brands guides are v5 as well.
Version 6 is on its way to be released in the near future, so he continuously updates version 5 (without publishing, but with committing all his changes).
In the meantime, if there is a bug/complaint/needed change in v5, I see no way of modifying and publishing version 5.1 without containing his changes for v6. Do you know of a way or am I correct in my assumption that his way is highly problematic? Do you have any suggestions on how to solve this?