Image Distortion in PDF

This Forum is for General Issues about Capture

Image Distortion in PDF

Postby GarrettDRussell on Wed Jul 30, 2014 6:15 am

Hello all,

It is very hard for me to describe exactly what is happening with the image that I have edited (made call-outs for) in Capture. They look perfectly fine in Flare after I add my call-outs in Capture. It is not until I generate a PDF of my document that the image gets all messed up. It is very bizarre what it is doing to the image.

For reference, the following images contain 2 JPEGs combined into one in Capture using the "Add Image" option.

My image in Flare:
Interlock Flare.JPG


My image in the PDF output:
Interlock PDF.JPG


Does anyone have any idea what may be happening here and how I can go about fixing it?

Thank you,
Garrett Russell
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
GarrettDRussell
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 1:02 pm

Re: Image Distortion in PDF

Postby Richard Ferrell on Tue Sep 16, 2014 4:47 pm

What Format are the images in before you bring them into capture?
Richard Ferrell

Certified Madcap Trainer
Image
Richard Ferrell
Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 837
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 10:11 am
Location: Inside California

Re: Image Distortion in PDF

Postby GarrettDRussell on Thu Sep 25, 2014 6:06 am

They are JPEGs that we rendered from a Pro-Engineering model.

I am assuming it is some type of tranparency issue, but I wouldn't know how to go about fix that.

Thanks,
Garrett
GarrettDRussell
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 1:02 pm

Re: Image Distortion in PDF

Postby atomdocs on Thu Sep 25, 2014 7:41 am

Hi Garrett

I don't have engineering eyes - where is the distortion? Do you mean the borders showing up in the PDF version?
Tom
Flare 2019, Capture 7
Image
User avatar
atomdocs
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 307
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 3:00 am
Location: Eastern Seaboard, Thailand

Re: Image Distortion in PDF

Postby SteveS on Thu Sep 25, 2014 3:32 pm

GarrettDRussell wrote:They are JPEGs that we rendered from a Pro-Engineering model.

I am assuming it is some type of tranparency issue, but I wouldn't know how to go about fix that.

Thanks,
Garrett

I don't think jpegs support transparency...

They are, however, a lossy format. Each time they are saved they are compressed, losing fine detail. Not only that, but there are different levels of compression. Most programs allow the user to set the compression, balancing retained detail against file size.

Where possible, I like to use bitmaps (.bmp) and save as a jpg or png at the end of the process. If I make changes, I make them to the bitmap and resave the final image. This works well in applications that support layers (although you will have to save in the apps proprietary format). I must 'fess up, when I use my digital camera I shoot in RAW, so I am a bit anal about this sort of thing).

Enough rambling, what happens if you save in a different format, or if you increase the detail (and file size) when you export from the rendering application?
Image
Steve
Life's too short for bad coffee, bad chocolate, and bad red wine.
SteveS
Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 1989
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 5:06 pm
Location: Adelaide, far side of the world ( 34°56'0.78\"S 138°46'44.28\"E).


Return to Capture's General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest