MadCap Capture hasn't been updated since 2012?

This Forum is for General Issues about Capture

MadCap Capture hasn't been updated since 2012?

Postby sdcinvan on Wed Mar 04, 2015 4:49 pm

While submitting a feature request.... regarding no way to lock aspect ratio when resizing objects, I noticed that Capture hasn't been updated since March 2012. Seriously?

According to my maintenance agreement, MadCap promises a major update for every application covered under my agreement. Since Capture was still part of the MadPak during my 2013 maintenance agreement, I believe MadCap broke their commitment during that term.

Anyhow, I am more interested in understanding what's up with this tool. It is essential to my Flare workflow but the bugs and/or limitations are very frustrating!

Thanks for listening. :)
Shawn in Vancouver, Canada
Main tools used: Flare 11.x, InDesign, Google Docs, Lectora, Captivate.
Report bugs: https://www.madcapsoftware.com/feedback/bugs.aspx ▪ Feature requests: https://www.madcapsoftware.com/feedback/featurerequest.aspx[/i]
User avatar
sdcinvan
Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 1260
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 11:46 am
Location: Vancouver, Canada

Re: MadCap Capture hasn't been updated since 2012?

Postby DocuWil on Thu Mar 05, 2015 1:14 am

As far I can see, the last 'separate' delivery I have had was March 2013.
Later on it became part of the Flare delivery, but no real change apart from a capture possibility in Flare.
I must say that I like the product, but also SnagIt. Often I use them both.
It would be good if the good parts of these products would melt together, but that is my opinion.
Wil Veenstra

Documentation and Training Centre
Infologic Nederland
(Using Flare 11.1.2, Capture 7.0.0 and Mimic 7.0.0 in Windows 10 64-bit)
User avatar
DocuWil
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 1:22 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: MadCap Capture hasn't been updated since 2012?

Postby sdcinvan on Thu Mar 05, 2015 2:00 pm

DocuWil wrote:As far I can see, the last 'separate' delivery I have had was March 2013.
Later on it became part of the Flare delivery, but no real change apart from a capture possibility in Flare.
I must say that I like the product, but also SnagIt. Often I use them both.
It would be good if the good parts of these products would melt together, but that is my opinion.


The most frustrating part about Capture is that it appears that few Flare users actually see a use for Capture. At least it appears that way. I seem to be amongst the minority of people actually making use of that important (but flawed) tool. But without MadCap Capture, Flare is suddenly becomes much less flexible, with images, compared to Adobe FrameMaker.

I use Snagit too but it isn't a suitable replacement for Capture. Why? Because when adding annotations (text bubbles, etc.), I must remember to manually save a .snag file, otherwise all my images are permanently flattened down to bitmaps. The other problem is that there is no easy way to update the background image.
Shawn in Vancouver, Canada
Main tools used: Flare 11.x, InDesign, Google Docs, Lectora, Captivate.
Report bugs: https://www.madcapsoftware.com/feedback/bugs.aspx ▪ Feature requests: https://www.madcapsoftware.com/feedback/featurerequest.aspx[/i]
User avatar
sdcinvan
Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 1260
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 11:46 am
Location: Vancouver, Canada

Re: MadCap Capture hasn't been updated since 2012?

Postby dorcutt on Thu Mar 05, 2015 2:53 pm

I'm right there with you in the "more love for Capture" bandwagon. It could be such a huge, gamge-changing asset for Flare if they just invested some time into it. As it is, it is still quite useful.

The inability to smoothly size images for Web output is irritating me beyond belief, currently. i'd like to capture an image, specify a print DPI output, and specify a percentage of its current size that it should display at, and have the image actually scale smoothly. Capturing things at a particular background scale just doesn't cut it.
-Dan, Propellerhead-in-training
dorcutt
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 12:16 pm

Re: MadCap Capture hasn't been updated since 2012?

Postby sdcinvan on Thu Mar 05, 2015 3:31 pm

sdcinvan wrote:While submitting a feature request.... regarding no way to lock aspect ratio when resizing objects, I noticed that Capture hasn't been updated since March 2012. Seriously?

According to my maintenance agreement, MadCap promises a major update for every application covered under my agreement. Since Capture was still part of the MadPak during my 2013 maintenance agreement, I believe MadCap broke their commitment during that term.

Anyhow, I am more interested in understanding what's up with this tool. It is essential to my Flare workflow but the bugs and/or limitations are very frustrating!

Thanks for listening. :)
sdcinvan wrote:While submitting a feature request.... regarding no way to lock aspect ratio when resizing objects, I noticed that Capture hasn't been updated since March 2012. Seriously?

According to my maintenance agreement, MadCap promises a major update for every application covered under my agreement. Since Capture was still part of the MadPak during my 2013 maintenance agreement, I believe MadCap broke their commitment during that term.

Anyhow, I am more interested in understanding what's up with this tool. It is essential to my Flare workflow but the bugs and/or limitations are very frustrating!

Thanks for listening. :)


Thanks for your reply. Really appreciate your feedback.

But is MadCap listening?
Shawn in Vancouver, Canada
Main tools used: Flare 11.x, InDesign, Google Docs, Lectora, Captivate.
Report bugs: https://www.madcapsoftware.com/feedback/bugs.aspx ▪ Feature requests: https://www.madcapsoftware.com/feedback/featurerequest.aspx[/i]
User avatar
sdcinvan
Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 1260
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 11:46 am
Location: Vancouver, Canada

Re: MadCap Capture hasn't been updated since 2012?

Postby dorcutt on Fri Mar 06, 2015 12:20 pm

I keep on hoping to find an announcement for MadCap Flare 10.1: The Capture Update.

I can dream.... :mrgreen:
-Dan, Propellerhead-in-training
dorcutt
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 12:16 pm

Re: MadCap Capture hasn't been updated since 2012?

Postby RamonS on Fri Mar 06, 2015 12:36 pm

I dropped MadCap a note....not sure how much it helps, but it probably won't hurt.
I agree, Capture would be _the_ tool if it was more snagit-ish.
RamonS
Senior Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 4287
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 9:29 am
Location: The Electric City

Re: MadCap Capture hasn't been updated since 2012?

Postby rob hollinger on Fri Mar 06, 2015 2:16 pm

We are listening and hear you.

Shawn,
There is a "Replace" button on the Edit toolbar that replaces the background image.
Is that what you're looking for or is there a different way you would prefer?

Because we write the original image to the props file, replacing the background images need to be done through Capture.

Please feel free to FLOOD our Features database so we can get these options you want in front of Development.
https://www.madcapsoftware.com/feedback ... quest.aspx
Rob Hollinger
MadCap Software
rob hollinger
Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 660
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 8:40 am

Re: MadCap Capture hasn't been updated since 2012?

Postby sdcinvan on Fri Mar 06, 2015 3:27 pm

rob hollinger wrote:We are listening and hear you.

Shawn,
There is a "Replace" button on the Edit toolbar that replaces the background image.
Is that what you're looking for or is there a different way you would prefer?

Because we write the original image to the props file, replacing the background images need to be done through Capture.



Hello Rob,

>There is a "Replace" button on the Edit toolbar that replaces the background image.

That is odd, you seem to be referencing a very early question I had about Madcap Capture. I long past that now. LOL

This post was about noticing that there is no support for locking the aspect ration when sizing objects. This is a strangely omitted feature. Strange because I have never before encountered a image editing (free or pay) that didn't include this basic function.
But more to the point, I posted this message to express my frustration that this very essential MadCap companion hasn't been updated in nearly two years.

rob hollinger wrote:>Please feel free to FLOOD our Features database so we can get these options you want in front of Development.
https://www.madcapsoftware.com/feedback ... quest.aspx


I have but I don't think I have ever received feedback on any of the dozen feature requests I've made about Capture, in the past two years. I know of two bug reports and one feature request that I have made (more but I was not given the numbers): 90100, 90463, 91456.

BTW, we always appreciate your voice of MadCap in this forum. Thank you! :)

--
Shawn
Shawn in Vancouver, Canada
Main tools used: Flare 11.x, InDesign, Google Docs, Lectora, Captivate.
Report bugs: https://www.madcapsoftware.com/feedback/bugs.aspx ▪ Feature requests: https://www.madcapsoftware.com/feedback/featurerequest.aspx[/i]
User avatar
sdcinvan
Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 1260
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 11:46 am
Location: Vancouver, Canada


Return to Capture's General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron