How to draw a transparent rectangle?

This Forum is for General Issues about Capture

How to draw a transparent rectangle?

Postby JoeWeinmunson on Wed Sep 11, 2019 5:49 am

Since I am using Flare more and more at work I figured I would also start using Capture for screenshots. I'm scratching my head trying to accomplish one of the things that needs doing most often. I just want to draw a colored rectangle around a user interface item, but when I do so the rectangle area is white--hiding the element I am trying to highlight. I've spent 15 minutes now searching for help on this, both within the program and online. What am I missing here?
JoeWeinmunson
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2018 12:05 pm

Re: How to draw a transparent rectangle?

Postby SKamprowski on Wed Sep 11, 2019 6:19 am

Hi,

draw a rectangle with Capture, open its properties, and choose (Default) or (transparent) for Fill start (see attached screenshot).
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Kind regards,
Sabine Kamprowski
DocToHelp MVP (by ComponentOne)
SKamprowski
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 252
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2015 8:25 am
Location: Germany

Re: How to draw a transparent rectangle?

Postby Nita Beck on Wed Sep 11, 2019 6:21 am

(Caveat: I'm going on memory...)

Open the rectangle's properties. On the Appearance (I think) tab, you'll see that there are a couple of controls in the upper left. I think you need to select "Solid" and then set the color to transparent. That should do it. Once you get the rectangle the way you want it, I suggest that you add it to the palette.

HTH
Nita
Image
Content Strategist / Information Architect / Flare Consultant: http://beck-communications.com
Manager, Rochester Flare User Group: http://www.facebook.com/RochesterFlareUserGroup
Nita Beck
Senior Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 3295
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 9:57 am
Location: Pittsford, NY


Return to Capture's General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest