Capture an Individual Button

This Forum is for General Issues about Capture
sboyd
Jr. Propeller Head

Capture an Individual Button

Post by sboyd »

Hello,

Sorry if this has already been brought up. I'm very new to the app. Please direct me to the correct thread, if there is one.

I want to capture an individual button in a toolbar and paste it to my document. For example, it could be the "New Blank Document" button from Word. After I have captured the toolbar, can I isolate this button alone and import it to a Flare doc?

Thanks!
Sean
lacastle
Propellus Maximus

Re: Capture an Individual Button

Post by lacastle »

With Capture open, if you press Ctrl+Shift+R (capture region), you will get a "cross-hairs" selection box to drag around the button you want to capture. (search for Capturing a Region in the Capture help)

You could also use the Rectangle Mode button on the Capture Editor tool bar to crop an image down to the size of the individual button.
lacastle
Propellus Maximus

Post by lacastle »

sboyd
Jr. Propeller Head

Post by sboyd »

Thanks for the reply.

I tried both methods and they work well. However, I need to use photo editing software to crop the background surrounding the button.

Can I rework a capture to this level of detail using Capture only?

Thanks!
lacastle
Propellus Maximus

Post by lacastle »

You want just the image (and not any surrounding background)? You can use the Polygon (or oval) mode instead of Rectangle mode to crop, but if it were me, I'd probably use Photoshop.

I don't think Capture has a transparent background setting. See http://forums.madcapsoftware.com/viewto ... =18&t=5769 .
SteveS
Senior Propellus Maximus
Location: Adelaide, far side of the world ( 34°56'0.78\"S 138°46'44.28\"E).

Post by SteveS »

sboyd wrote:Thanks for the reply.

I tried both methods and they work well. However, I need to use photo editing software to crop the background surrounding the button.