Resizing Screenshots

This Forum is for General Issues about Capture

Resizing Screenshots

Postby MikeKatz on Wed Nov 05, 2008 8:34 am

Is there a way to properly resize a screenshot in Capture?
When I try to do so via the properties and adjust the scale, it becomes an unreadable mess in the preview window.
I'm hoping to replace Paint Shop's screen capture, since I can annotate much better and quicker in Capture, but Paint Shop resizes pretty well:
FlareDialogsResize1.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Mike
MikeKatz
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 5:54 pm

Re: Resizing Screenshots

Postby SteveS on Wed Nov 05, 2008 1:46 pm

Are you using Capture I, II, or III? III seems to be the most managable.

I find with scale resizing sticking to 1/10s (ie .5) gives the best results, rather than trying to scale an image to 600 pixels wide. I also find png to be the most versatile file format - gifs tend to get a mottled appearance.

HTH
Image
Steve
Life's too short for bad coffee, bad chocolate, and bad red wine.
SteveS
Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 1989
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 5:06 pm
Location: Adelaide, far side of the world ( 34°56'0.78\"S 138°46'44.28\"E).

Re: Resizing Screenshots

Postby MikeKatz on Wed Nov 05, 2008 2:33 pm

SteveS wrote:Are you using Capture I, II, or III? III seems to be the most managable.

I find with scale resizing sticking to 1/10s (ie .5) gives the best results, rather than trying to scale an image to 600 pixels wide. I also find png to be the most versatile file format - gifs tend to get a mottled appearance.

HTH


Here's how .5 comes out - this is Capture 3:
Capture.png

This is just not usable.

At .7, the same as the original one above, it looks like this:
Capture2.png

It seems to be resizing but not keeping the aspect ratio properly. This makes it looked squashed, and it may also account for the difference in clarity.

Here is the original:
FlareDialogsResize1.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Mike
MikeKatz
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 5:54 pm

Re: Resizing Screenshots

Postby DocuWil on Thu Nov 06, 2008 3:46 am

Isn't it that when you resize an image, let's say 50% smaller, you have to enlarge the resolution with 100%?
Yes, but that's only for printed output. In the WebHelp output the size will remain the same.
Example of a Word output:
I put 2 images next to each other. The right one is made 50% smaller and the resolution 100% bigger (it is a ratio)
test.png

That looks very good in printed matter, isn't it?
By the way, it would be nice if this ratio would be implemented in the Media Properties (Ctrl+Alt+B) --> Print Size
Meaning: if you set the Width in Maximum Size, the Height will be adjusted (if you set it to Automatic), but not the resolution. That's the reason that the quality reduces. It should be adjusted automatically too.

There will be no difference in the WebHelp. That is due to the resolution.
Conclusion: If you change the size and not change the resolution, which makes you image also change in the WebHelp, the quality reduces. And I think to an unusable image! Nothing can help you with that, unless a very clever algorythm is used.

This means that you have to be careful making a screenshot. If possible, you could change the size of your application's window.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Wil Veenstra

Documentation and Training Centre
Infologic Nederland
(Using Flare 11.1.2, Capture 7.0.0 and Mimic 7.0.0 in Windows 10 64-bit)
User avatar
DocuWil
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 1:22 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Resizing Screenshots

Postby DocuWil on Thu Nov 06, 2008 4:00 am

I am sorry, the story was based on the Flare application. Nevertheless ......
Wil Veenstra

Documentation and Training Centre
Infologic Nederland
(Using Flare 11.1.2, Capture 7.0.0 and Mimic 7.0.0 in Windows 10 64-bit)
User avatar
DocuWil
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 1:22 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Resizing Screenshots

Postby MikeKatz on Thu Nov 06, 2008 12:44 pm

DocuWil wrote:Isn't it that when you resize an image, let's say 50% smaller, you have to enlarge the resolution with 100%?
Yes, but that's only for printed output. In the WebHelp output the size will remain the same.
Example of a Word output:
I put 2 images next to each other. The right one is made 50% smaller and the resolution 100% bigger (it is a ratio)
test.png

That looks very good in printed matter, isn't it?
By the way, it would be nice if this ratio would be implemented in the Media Properties (Ctrl+Alt+B) --> Print Size
Meaning: if you set the Width in Maximum Size, the Height will be adjusted (if you set it to Automatic), but not the resolution. That's the reason that the quality reduces. It should be adjusted automatically too.

There will be no difference in the WebHelp. That is due to the resolution.
Conclusion: If you change the size and not change the resolution, which makes you image also change in the WebHelp, the quality reduces. And I think to an unusable image! Nothing can help you with that, unless a very clever algorythm is used.

This means that you have to be careful making a screenshot. If possible, you could change the size of your application's window.


Hi Will
Word is VERY good at resizing, but you can't use resized Word images in other applications, they degrade considerably.
Mike
MikeKatz
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 5:54 pm


Return to Capture's General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], JeffAlan and 2 guests