Can not install Flare 12

This forum is for all Flare issues related to getting started and installing the application.

Can not install Flare 12

Postby t90fpe on Tue Apr 26, 2016 3:09 am

I am trying to install Flare 12 64 bit on a Windows 7 64 bit but installation process fails.

During the process, after I can change installation location and I click Install a screen with Overall Progress and Current Package is shown and there are four green dot indicating progress, the installation process ends with "Setup Cancelled The operation was cancelled. No changes have been made".

I've tried the media downloaded from the e-mail I got from MadCap and I've also downloaded the Flare 12 trial package from MadCaps Website.

Anyone else exeperienced this?
t90fpe
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 7:52 am

Re: Can not install Flare 12

Postby RamonS on Tue Apr 26, 2016 3:50 am

I have not experienced this issue, but can you try installing it to the designated default folder? I just wonder if changing the installation location makes a difference. I do assume that the alternate location is somewhere on your local drives where you have full read/write permissions to and you install using administrative permissions.
RamonS
Senior Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 4286
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 9:29 am
Location: The Electric City

Re: Can not install Flare 12

Postby t90fpe on Tue Apr 26, 2016 4:36 am

Actually, I never changed the location, I use the default location suggested.

I do have Flare 11 (32 bit) installed on the same computer.
t90fpe
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 7:52 am

Re: Can not install Flare 12

Postby t90fpe on Thu Apr 28, 2016 12:06 am

I just want to let you all know I got this sorted out.

It was like a Windows Update thing. We have a common computer platform with lots of users (+10000 users) and updates are run from a centralized service/repository and we cannot choose when or what to update. I think the Windows Update process failed somehow and there was another unfinished installation preventing Flare 12 from being installed. The error message in Flare was not very descriptive but I suspected this and rebooted the computer and did not hook it up to our corporate network so the update service failed to connect and then the installation of Flare 12 was smooth!
t90fpe
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 7:52 am

Re: Can not install Flare 12

Postby RamonS on Thu Apr 28, 2016 5:44 am

Great that you figured it out. That would have been difficult to detect from afar.
RamonS
Senior Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 4286
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 9:29 am
Location: The Electric City

Re: Can not install Flare 12

Postby vola_newbie2 on Mon May 29, 2017 4:48 am

Thanks for your reply. I had exactly the same problem with 2017 r2.
I installed the last Windows updates and I disabled Windows Defender.
I eventually managed to run the setup.

@MadCap Team, I do not feel very at ease with the idea of disabling my AntiVirus just to install a new release of Flare ... :?
vola_newbie2
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 4:53 am

Re: Can not install Flare 12

Postby RamonS on Mon May 29, 2017 6:31 am

vola_newbie2 wrote:@MadCap Team, I do not feel very at ease with the idea of disabling my AntiVirus just to install a new release of Flare ... :?

It usually is not necessary. I encountered this only once, but it all depends on the AV engine installed and what the configuration is. It really is a problem of the AV vendor, not MadCap.
If you want to send feedback to MadCap you better use the official avenues. While some MadCap employees view the forum posts it is still a peer to peer forum.
RamonS
Senior Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 4286
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 9:29 am
Location: The Electric City

Re: Can not install Flare 12

Postby nat on Wed Jun 13, 2018 10:04 pm

Hi, I had the same problem this week while trying to install Flare 2018 (Flare 14). In my case, Microsoft Update wasn't the issue.
Madcap Technical Support pointed me to this knowledge base article: http://kb.madcapsoftware.com/Content/Misc/GEN1026Z_-_Setup_Cancelled.htm
It worked for me! (run "repair" on Microsoft Visual C++ 2017 Redistributable).
I thought this might help someone else with similar problems...

Cheers, Nat
nat
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 4:41 pm
Location: Wellington, New Zealand


Return to Getting Started and Installation Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest