Renaming TOC as Table of Content

This forum is for all Flare issues related to importing files or projects.

Renaming TOC as Table of Content

Postby Mritunjay_g on Wed May 03, 2017 11:57 pm

Hi,

Is it possible to rename TOC as Table of content?
-- This topic has already been surfaced earlier on forum but I did not get satisfactory result.


Can also we rename TOC contents?
-- I tried pressing F2 and renaming but no change found on pdf output.

Please guide, if possible.

Thanks

Cheers,
Mritunjay
Mritunjay_g
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 11:56 pm

Re: Renaming TOC as Table of Content

Postby Rene Severens on Thu May 04, 2017 1:35 am

Hi,

You mean like this:

TOC title.jpg


Greetings,
Rene Severens
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
"The numbers are strange today; they somehow do not seem to add up."
Rene Severens
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 2:06 am
Location: Netherlands - Zoetermeer

Re: Renaming TOC as Table of Content

Postby wclass on Thu May 04, 2017 11:10 pm

Mritunjay_g wrote:Is it possible to rename TOC as Table of content?
-- This topic has already been surfaced earlier on forum but I did not get satisfactory result.


Are you using an automatically generated TOC? If so, this thread - https://forums.madcapsoftware.com/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=27679 - on the forums explains the odd behaviour there. Is this one of the topics that you did not get a satisfactory result from - we admit that it should be easier to change the Contents label. :-)
Otherwise, you can create your own Contents topic with whatever heading you like and then use a toc proxy.
Margaret Hassall - Melbourne
wclass
Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 1150
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 5:56 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Renaming TOC as Table of Content

Postby Mritunjay_g on Sat May 06, 2017 5:16 am

Ys, wclass you are right I was looking for automatically generated TOC but later I changed to my own content(TOC). I have achieved my desired result except one small thing,

I have two pages before TOC , first is 'name of project' with some details and second is 'disclaimer' but both these pages are there on TOC numbered as 1 and 2.

Page after the TOC must be numbered as 1. I don't want 'name of project' page and 'disclaimer' page on TOC.

Hope, I could explain my point well.

Also, please help me in making destination for print output pdf.


Thanks
Mritunjay_g
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 11:56 pm

Re: Renaming TOC as Table of Content

Postby wclass on Sat May 06, 2017 6:42 pm

If you have headings, like "Name of Project" that you don't want to be in the TOC, you need to create a heading style like "h1.NotInTOC" and set the madcap property "mc-heading-level" to 0.

Restarting the numbering so that page 1 starts after the TOC is a bit more tricky but here is a thread that might help: viewtopic.php?f=10&t=27080
I have to admit that I am unsure here as I don't do this - I think it can cause people too much of a problem when they try and print a PDF and the printed number is not the same as the page within the document.
Margaret Hassall - Melbourne
wclass
Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 1150
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 5:56 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Renaming TOC as Table of Content

Postby ChoccieMuffin on Mon May 08, 2017 3:13 am

Restarting at page 1 for the topic after the TOC is actually quite easy! ;-)

In your Flare TOC, in the topic after the TOC (that you want to start as page 1) open Properties.
On the Printed Output tab in the Break Type list select Chapter Break.
In the Page Number group click Reset to and in the box type 1. If necessary, in the Format list click Default.

Printed_Output_tab.png


If you have chapter numbers as well, on the Auto-Numbers tab reset the chapter number to 1.

Tada!!!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Started as a newbie with Flare 6.1, now using Flare 2017.
Report bugs at http://www.madcapsoftware.com/bugs/submit.aspx.
Request features at https://www.madcapsoftware.com/feedback ... quest.aspx
ChoccieMuffin
Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 1428
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 8:01 am

Re: Renaming TOC as Table of Content

Postby Mritunjay_g on Mon May 08, 2017 5:21 am

Thanks ChoccieMuffin and wclass, it is done.

Please guide me in publishing the project.

If I simply copy the pdf output to another location, it works. But could not do through destination.

Please help.

Thanks in advance,
Mritunjay_g
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 11:56 pm

Re: Renaming TOC as Table of Content

Postby Mritunjay_g on Wed May 10, 2017 3:11 am

Hi All,

Can anyone share some sample online target ?

Thanks to all
Mritunjay_g
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 11:56 pm

Re: Renaming TOC as Table of Content

Postby SteveS on Wed May 10, 2017 3:29 pm

Flare provides example of online, and other, help projects.

Start the new project Wizard (you can find it on the start page or via file -> new).

The second screen allows you to select new from template. There are a heap of factory templates including Top navigation and triplane.

HTH
Image
Steve
Life's too short for bad coffee, bad chocolate, and bad red wine.
SteveS
Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 1826
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 5:06 pm
Location: Adelaide, far side of the world ( 34°56'0.78\"S 138°46'44.28\"E).


Return to Importing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest