Frame Import Error Message

This forum is for all Flare issues related to importing files or projects.

Frame Import Error Message

Postby Jannie on Wed Jul 22, 2015 11:54 am

I am a Flare 11 user. I need to import some Framemaker documents, so IS installed Framemaker 2015. I prepared the Framemaker docs for importing. However, I am getting the attached error message when I attempt to import the Framemaker documents from Project > Import > Import Framemaker documents.
Anyone have any suggestions to fix this problem?
Thanks!

ErrorMessage.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Jannie
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2011 2:18 pm

Re: Frame Import Error Message

Postby RamonS on Wed Jul 22, 2015 5:06 pm

I vaguely recall that the order of installation might matter due to the way some registry entries and settings are read. Try installing FM first and then Flare...since that isn't a five second fix you might want to hold off on some better suggestions.
RamonS
Senior Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 4286
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 9:29 am
Location: The Electric City

Re: Frame Import Error Message

Postby Jannie on Thu Jul 23, 2015 10:20 am

Thanks Ramon.
I am hoping there is an easier fix. :-)
Jannie
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2011 2:18 pm

Re: Frame Import Error Message

Postby pcartee on Fri Feb 03, 2017 7:41 am

I'm having the same problem, getting an error when trying to import FrameMaker files. I've tried to reinstall both applications without any success. Did MadCap ever get back to you with a solution?

Paul
It's all about the journey, and the journey is Jiujitsu.
pcartee
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 7:28 am
Location: Denver, Colorado

Re: Frame Import Error Message

Postby Louise Bennett on Tue Dec 04, 2018 7:26 pm

I have just encountered this error using FM 2019 and Flare 2018R2. Did anyone get a resolution?
Louise Bennett
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 7:53 pm

Re: Frame Import Error Message

Postby cdschroeder on Wed Dec 05, 2018 10:43 am

Louise Bennett wrote:I have just encountered this error using FM 2019 and Flare 2018R2. Did anyone get a resolution?

I don't have personal experience in this area, but there was a more recent post regarding this issue - apparently FrameMaker 2019 isn't supported: viewtopic.php?f=10&t=30998

Fortunately, it sounds like downloading an old version (even just the trial) worked for them.
Casey

Image
cdschroeder
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 187
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 9:18 am
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Re: Frame Import Error Message

Postby Louise Bennett on Wed Dec 05, 2018 4:15 pm

Thanks Casey.

I heard back from support overnight that 2019 wasn't supported (as you said). So I downloaded FM2017 and was still unable to import UNTIL I opened both apps in Administrator mode (right-click each App icon and choose Run as Administrator). Then it worked perfectly.

To save having to run as administrator for every session, you can change the settings for each app by doing this:

1. Right-click the application icon, select properties
2. Open the security tab
3. Select the Advanced button towards the bottom right
4. In the settings window that pops up, select Change Permissions
5. Make sure your user profile has granted the application full control

Thanks to Denise Vega in Flare Support for the tip :)
Louise Bennett
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 7:53 pm

Re: Frame Import Error Message

Postby shizzo on Wed Jun 26, 2019 2:38 pm

Did anyone find a fix for this, or even MadCap?
I am running Frame 2019 and Flare 2019, and during the trial, I ran into the error, sent the project to MadCap, they fixed, and then Frame Import worked.

Now, I bough a Flare license, and previously had tested a Frame Import and it worked.

Now, on the same system, noting changed. the FrameMaker error appears again.

Windows 10, Frame 2019, Flare 2019.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
shizzo
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 31, 2019 12:21 pm

Re: Frame Import Error Message

Postby RyanLang on Fri Sep 13, 2019 2:34 am

shizzo wrote:Did anyone find a fix for this, or even MadCap?
I am running Frame 2019 and Flare 2019, and during the trial, I ran into the error, sent the project to MadCap, they fixed, and then Frame Import worked.

Now, I bough a Flare license, and previously had tested a Frame Import and it worked.

Now, on the same system, noting changed. the FrameMaker error appears again.

Windows 10, Frame 2019, Flare 2019.


I am also having the same problem. Will this be fixed in the future? If so how far into the future?
RyanLang
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2019 4:58 am

Re: Frame Import Error Message

Postby SteveS on Sun Sep 15, 2019 3:27 pm

RyanLang wrote:I am also having the same problem. Will this be fixed in the future? If so how far into the future?

We're a peer to peer forum, and as such, no one can answer that.

The Madcap support folk drop in from time to time, but your question is better directed at Madcap.

Put in a bug report, or contact them directly. The more people who report an issue the higher it gets pushed on the to-do list...
Image
Steve
Life's too short for bad coffee, bad chocolate, and bad red wine.
SteveS
Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 1973
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 5:06 pm
Location: Adelaide, far side of the world ( 34°56'0.78\"S 138°46'44.28\"E).


Return to Importing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests