Pushing templates to Flare

This forum is for all Flare issues related to importing files or projects.
JimOfRoseville
Jr. Propeller Head

Pushing templates to Flare

Post by JimOfRoseville »

Hello everyone,
Please forgive my ignorance. I'm not an actual Flare user, but I work with a team that does use flare.

I'm a web programmer. And I've been tasked with creating an intranet tool whereby a user can assemble data pieces, press a button, and whammo! bata bing!, templates are now available in their Flare instance. This would require a service API that is ready, listening for such an import, and/or access to data tables where the pertinent data can be imported... or whatever. I know enough to know that while inside of Flare you can import templates. I'm actually asking for the reverse of this... where an app pushes templates into Flare.

I'm not sure what to call this functionality, if it exists as a service, or how to interact with the API (that is if it exists as such).

All I'm asking is for some direction into the correct thing to look into. From there I should be able to find the correct tutorials or manuals that will allow me to write this utility.

Thank you in advance,
Jim
Daniel Ferguson
Propeller Head

Re: Pushing templates to Flare

Post by Daniel Ferguson »

Hi Jim,

If I'm understanding your requirement correctly, I think this might be quite simple.

Flare saves topic templates in user-defined template folders. When a user is creating a new topic, Flare scans the template folders and presents their files as templates available for the user to select. So in your case, you could have all your Flare users define a standard template folder on their hard drives (say c:\Flare Templates). Then, all your tool would need to do is generate a valid Flare XHTML file and copy that file into the user's c:\Flare Template folder, and it is immediately available. No restarts, reboots or anything.