Flare as Frame Conversion Tool vs. Flare as Authoring Tool

This forum is for all Flare issues related to importing files or projects.
flarebrained
Jr. Propeller Head

Flare as Frame Conversion Tool vs. Flare as Authoring Tool

Post by flarebrained »

Flare seems to be a robust authoring solution -- a good tool if you want to move your Frame docs into Flare and stay there (continue to author in Flare); however, it doesn't seem as ideal for authoring in Frame and importing into Flare on a regular basis. Some things don't seem as automatic as they should be, and there seems to be quite a bit of post-processing required once you get your Frame files into Flare. Thoughts?

I'm new to Flare, so it may be that I have a long way to go before I've mastered the conversion process. Does anyone here author in Frame and regularly convert to Flare nearly automatically (with minimal post-processing)? This is what we'd like to be able to do. Thanks.
LTinker68
Master Propellus Maximus

Re: Flare as Frame Conversion Tool vs. Flare as Authoring Tool

Post by LTinker68 »

The general thought is that you import your content into Flare and then work from there, without ever going back to Framemaker (or Word). The advantage is that you're now really single-sourcing your content -- you only edit in one place but you can output to multiple types of documents (print, web, etc.). You will still need FM installed on your machine so that you can generate PDFs from Flare, but other than that, the theory is that you wouldn't use FM again. Likewise, if you work in Word generally, then you import into Flare, continue working there, then only output to Word to distribute to the end user or to generate a PDF via Word (either using the built-in option in Word 2007 or using the Acrobat plug-in if you have it).

Lisa
Eagles may soar, but weasels aren't sucked into jet engines.
Warning! Loose nut behind the keyboard.
NorthEast
Master Propellus Maximus

Post by NorthEast »