Border on an HTML 5 Top Nav Header

This forum is for all Flare issues related to styles, stylesheets and XML.
Post Reply
Liv_W
Propeller Head
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 1:16 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Border on an HTML 5 Top Nav Header

Post by Liv_W »

Hi,
I've been trying to find a way to add a border to the bottom of the header in my HTML 5 Top Nav project and having no luck. There isn't an option in the skin (I'm using the blue one you can download off Madcap's site) and I've tried opening it in the text editor and adding it, but it has no effect on it. The reason I'm trying to do is that the header may have to be white to match our company site and it just needs broken up. I'm open to something in the page layout provided it would move when you scroll down. Any ideas?
Thanks,
Liv
cdschroeder
Sr. Propeller Head
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 9:18 am
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Re: Border on an HTML 5 Top Nav Header

Post by cdschroeder »

Hi Liv! You can use the stylesheet to add a border to the bottom of the header. Here's my code:

Code: Select all

nav.tab-bar
{
    border-bottom: solid 5px #A9A9A9;
}
If you're using 2017 R2, the exact style name might have changed. But you should be able to figure it out with the dev tools in your browser.
Casey

Image
Liv_W
Propeller Head
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 1:16 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Re: Border on an HTML 5 Top Nav Header

Post by Liv_W »

Thanks, Casey. I was focused on the skin I forgot about my stylesheet.
doc_guy
Propellus Maximus
Posts: 1979
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 11:18 am
Location: Crossroads of the West
Contact:

Re: Border on an HTML 5 Top Nav Header

Post by doc_guy »

This is one of the benefits of TopNav: since there is no iFrame, you can make changes directly to your stylesheet, and they will be applied to any place you need in the TopNav output. It's really quite helpful.
Paul Pehrson
My Blog

Image
Perrorist
Propeller Head
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 4:04 pm
Location: Central Coast, NSW

Re: Border on an HTML 5 Top Nav Header

Post by Perrorist »

I can't find nav.tab-bar in any file. Inspecting the output reveals nav.title-bar, but I can't see how I can access that either.

I'm using 2017 R2 with the sticky header option.
cdschroeder
Sr. Propeller Head
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 9:18 am
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Re: Border on an HTML 5 Top Nav Header

Post by cdschroeder »

Perrorist wrote:I can't find nav.tab-bar in any file. Inspecting the output reveals nav.title-bar, but I can't see how I can access that either.

I'm using 2017 R2 with the sticky header option.
nav.tab-bar is a selector that MadCap adds automatically when generating the output. But you can override the defaults by adding the selector (and the attributes you want to change) to your stylesheet. I used the Text Editor, but you can probably add it through the Stylesheet Editor as well.
Casey

Image
Perrorist
Propeller Head
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 4:04 pm
Location: Central Coast, NSW

Re: Border on an HTML 5 Top Nav Header

Post by Perrorist »

Thanks for that tip, Casey!
Post Reply