micro content and mediums

This forum is for all Flare issues related to styles, stylesheets and XML.
Post Reply
StormSurge
Jr. Propeller Head
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2020 6:24 am

micro content and mediums

Post by StormSurge »

I figure this may be a style issue: Is there a way to include micro content in search results EXCEPT in the mobile medium? If I add images and multimedia, etc., it just takes up too much real estate on mobile devices.

Thanks.
ChoccieMuffin
Senior Propellus Maximus
Posts: 2632
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 8:01 am
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: micro content and mediums

Post by ChoccieMuffin »

Don't know, but you could possibly condition the images out with a media query? I haven't done it myself so don't have details on how to, but this help topic might help:

https://help.madcapsoftware.com/flare20 ... ueries.htm
Started as a newbie with Flare 6.1, now using Flare 2023.
Report bugs at http://www.madcapsoftware.com/bugs/submit.aspx.
Request features at https://www.madcapsoftware.com/feedback ... quest.aspx
StormSurge
Jr. Propeller Head
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2020 6:24 am

Re: micro content and mediums

Post by StormSurge »

Thanks for the response. You are right, if I create my own responses, I can use conditioning to hide some items, like images, etc.

I think what I would really like to do as I am figuring out how my micro content will look, is to hide the micro media completely from searches in the mobile medium. (So far I am reusing topic content by either 1) linking the entire topic and conditioning some portions as "topicOnly", or 2) highlighting a portion of a topic and adding it as micro content (for contiguous content).

Ideally I would like to be able to choose between these options for micro content in mobile searches based on the situation:
1) condition out portions of a response, or
2) condition out an entire question/response pair

I have tried the following to to hide micro content completely from the mobile medium in the css without success:

MadCap|MicroContent
Block
display: none
Positioning
visibility: hidden
Unclassified
mc-hidden: hidden

Thanks!
ChoccieMuffin
Senior Propellus Maximus
Posts: 2632
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 8:01 am
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: micro content and mediums

Post by ChoccieMuffin »

I'm only at the very start of using micro content, so I'm hoping someone with some knowledge will come along with a response. Sorry I can't help further.
Started as a newbie with Flare 6.1, now using Flare 2023.
Report bugs at http://www.madcapsoftware.com/bugs/submit.aspx.
Request features at https://www.madcapsoftware.com/feedback ... quest.aspx
rogersm
Propeller Head
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2014 4:29 am

Re: micro content and mediums

Post by rogersm »

Could you apply a condition to your microcontent file and then in the Conditional Text tab of the target use the Display by Media Query action to control when the microcontent is applied. I have not tried this, it was just a thought.
StormSurge
Jr. Propeller Head
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2020 6:24 am

Re: micro content and mediums

Post by StormSurge »

Unfortunately, I can't get media queries to work in my targets with mediums. No matter what I choose for a condition, either all or no mediums display the micro content. The media queries work fine for conditioned content in a topic, but not for mediums. BTW, I have tried it with both single-sourced content (i.e. part of a topic) and with original content, but it doesn't change the outcome.
NorthEast
Master Propellus Maximus
Posts: 6363
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:33 am

Re: micro content and mediums

Post by NorthEast »

For (1), you can use styles to control content displayed for the mediums default/tablet/mobile, and these will also work for microcontent.

For example:

Code: Select all

.desktop-only
{
	
}

.mobile-only
{
	display: none;
}

.tablet-only
{
	display: none;
}

@media tablet
{
	.desktop-only
	{
		display: none;
	}

	.tablet-only
	{
		display: block;
	}
}

@media mobile
{
	
	.desktop-only
	{
		display: none;
	}

	.tablet-only
	{
		display: none;
	}

	.mobile-only
	{
		display: block;
	}
}
For (2), I'm not sure you can do that via Flare's stylesheet editor, so it might need a CSS hack.
However, I'm not sure that's a good idea because it will still be counted as a result. For example, it'd be confusing if it said "Your search for xxx returned 1 result(s)" but then didn't display the result because it's microcontent.
StormSurge
Jr. Propeller Head
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2020 6:24 am

Re: micro content and mediums

Post by StormSurge »

Sorry, I probably didn't explain very well. I am single-sourcing content that I want to show up in topics in all mediums, but when a portion is reused as micro content, I don't want the micro content to show up in the mobile medium. This is all to do with real estate; I'm trying to keep the mobile output as slender as possible, kind of a website-lite, if that makes sense. Thanks for all the suggestions, though - It's always good to see what others are thinking/responding not only to learn new things, but also to clarify ones own thoughts.
ChoccieMuffin
Senior Propellus Maximus
Posts: 2632
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 8:01 am
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: micro content and mediums

Post by ChoccieMuffin »

StormSurge wrote:Sorry, I probably didn't explain very well. I am single-sourcing content that I want to show up in topics in all mediums, but when a portion is reused as micro content, I don't want the micro content to show up in the mobile medium. This is all to do with real estate; I'm trying to keep the mobile output as slender as possible, kind of a website-lite, if that makes sense. Thanks for all the suggestions, though - It's always good to see what others are thinking/responding not only to learn new things, but also to clarify ones own thoughts.
If you have a tech support package, get in touch with Madcap and see what they can suggest. They might have some really whizzy solution, or may be able to suggest some kind of alternative way of doing things, that'll help you achieve what you want.
Started as a newbie with Flare 6.1, now using Flare 2023.
Report bugs at http://www.madcapsoftware.com/bugs/submit.aspx.
Request features at https://www.madcapsoftware.com/feedback ... quest.aspx
Post Reply