User Defined Content

This forum is for all Flare issues related to styles, stylesheets and XML.
DurtyMat
Sr. Propeller Head

User Defined Content

Post by DurtyMat »

Before I start, I know I created a thread about something similar to this, but I wanted to just get some more information about the possibility of adding user defined content to a htmlhelp or webhelp appication. I am pretty comfortable in most situations that require getting knees deep in code, and I would really like to offer a way for my users to create custom procedures, definitions, tasks, etc. that are unique to their workplace. Our previous help systems were able to incorporate an option to add UDC and I want to try and do the same thing in our new help systems...

I could be way wrong (I have never attempted this..so cut me a little slack :D) but I figured I would need the following:

-WARNING- I HAVE NEVER DONE THIS BEFORE .... IT COULD GET SCARY and/or BE COMPLETELY WRONG!! -WARNING-

A page in the help system that comprised of user definable fields whose values are sent to a DB (im assuming its gonna be a mysql db...but suggestions would be nice)
the information from the UDC page is sent to a db and then recalled on a page that creates links based on the name of the new user created page....

so i invision something like this:

UDC Entry Page:

Name Field ____________ (name field has a value like, udc_name or something similar)

Table:
[number field] <- for the user to define the step in the procedure | [procedure information] followed by a line underneath for [result]

and so on....i know this a pretty dirty example but before i spent to much time trying to plan out how i want it to look/feel for the user i wanted to see what i would/wouldn't be able to do within a help system.

the information for the UDC entry page would be sent to a db and then recalled from a topic page that generated links based on the names of the UDC topics.