What fonts to use

This forum is for all Flare issues related to styles, stylesheets and XML.
CanAussie
Propeller Head

What fonts to use

Post by CanAussie »

G'day,

I am really new at producing documentation.

What font/s are recommended for a chm output? What about print?

Cheers,

CanAussie
wclass
Propellus Maximus

Re: What fonts to use

Post by wclass »

The Microsoft style guide recommends using "Verdana" for chms. For print output there is a million choices - we still use Arial, but we are starting to look at the new fonts with Office 2007.
Margaret Hassall - Melbourne
RamonS
Senior Propellus Maximus

Post by RamonS »

I always use Arial. It is a clear font that most people can read without problem. In general, stick with fonts that are guaranteed to be available on any Windows system otherwise Windows will probably attempt to replace the font with something else that is available and it may just pick something that makes your help not look as intended.
KevinDAmery
Propellus Maximus

Post by KevinDAmery »

I use this for my CHMs:

font-family: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;

This way, if Verdana is present (which it will be on newer Windows systems) it will use that. If for whatever reason it isn't present, Arial will be used. If neither is present, Helvetica is used (although it would be a pretty weird Windows system that didn't have Arial.... it's in the font family mostly for best practices reasons in my case, although if you were doing WebHelp instead of CHM it would be important for any Mac users). And if all else fails, it'll use the system sans-serif font.
Until next time....
Kevin Amery
Certified MAD for Flare
forfear
Propellus Maximus

Post by forfear »

Is Trebuchet the new font for Vista help?
If you submit your bug feedback request here, the more likely it'll get fixed or included in a future release
Open Utilities PageLayout Resizer for Flare/Blaze | Batch builder
KevinDAmery
Propellus Maximus

Post by KevinDAmery »