MiniTocProxy in v4 - FYI

This forum is for all Flare issues related to styles, stylesheets and XML.
lacastle
Propellus Maximus
Posts: 1028
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 7:28 am
Location: Wilmington, DE
Contact:

Re: MiniTocProxy in v4 - FYI

Post by lacastle »

I forgot about that. The project I'm working on now just has miniToc's and expanding text (which aren't *exactly* hyperlinks) so I wasn't thinking about anything else. I'll have to worry about those issues when I get back to my main help project. :?
srnowlin
Propeller Head
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Louisiana, US

Re: MiniTocProxy in v4 - FYI

Post by srnowlin »

OMG this is making me crazy. What part of the new CSS controls the color of the font and line spacing of the mini-toc?

It's just so frustrating to spend so much time on getting your help file to look just so and then it's broke with no clue where to go to fix it. /vent off

Why does it have to be this hard initially? :cry:

Currently my mini-toc is set inside a fieldset. The fieldset works, but the mini-toc used to be in a blue font that would bold italicize on hover and then remain regular italicized on focus. When visited it would turn to a maroon. The line spacing was set to single spaced. All this was made into a snippet that I could insert where needed as my mini-navigation for a section.

Now, with v4, The fieldset is still there but the mini-toc inside is in a black font, it will regular italicise on hover, and remain so on focus, then turn maroon on visit. The bold is gone (even though my a:hover is still formatted for blue bold italics)
and line spacing is showing double space (or something like that).



Made all the changes to the madcap|mini-tocproxy entry suggested here, the only thing that did for me was remove all the sublevels and change the font color and remove the bolding.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Sandra Nowlin
Techwriter Monkey - not as functional as Bathroom Monkey
New Tech Computer Systems
lacastle
Propellus Maximus
Posts: 1028
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 7:28 am
Location: Wilmington, DE
Contact:

Re: MiniTocProxy in v4 - FYI

Post by lacastle »

I 100% understand your frustrations! For me, I had to close Flare and find something else to do for a while - and take a vacation! When I came back to it, I could think rationally again and fix my problems.

Let me try some stuff and see what i come up with that might help.
srnowlin
Propeller Head
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Louisiana, US

Re: MiniTocProxy in v4 - FYI

Post by srnowlin »

Thank you, I appreciate your efforts. I walked away from this yesterday, but really we're in beta right now and I'm needing to publish help pratically daily. I guess I can keep using v3.1 to maintain my file, but that defeats the purpose of upgrading right?

So far I haven't had a need for the new features - sigh - that's the way my luck goes.
Sandra Nowlin
Techwriter Monkey - not as functional as Bathroom Monkey
New Tech Computer Systems
LTinker68
Master Propellus Maximus
Posts: 7247
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 9:38 pm

Re: MiniTocProxy in v4 - FYI

Post by LTinker68 »

It might be easier to open the stylesheet file in the Internal Text Editor, delete all the mini-TOC related styles, and start from scratch. Below is what I have in my stylesheet for mini-TOC related styles. You can copy those into your stylesheet file and modify from there. Especially since you have to manually add in the pseudo classes anyway. These are just for online output, BTW. I haven't played with the print outputs yet, so I haven't modified the styles for print.

Code: Select all

MadCap|miniTocProxy
{
	border-top-style: none;
}

a.MiniTOC1:link
{
	text-decoration: underline;
	color: #003e74;
	font-size: .9em;
	font-weight: normal;
}

a.MiniTOC1:visited
{
	text-decoration: underline;
	color: #003e74;
	font-size: .9em;
	font-weight: normal;
}

a.MiniTOC1:focus
{
	text-decoration: underline;
	color: #990000;
	font-size: .9em;
	font-weight: normal;
}

a.MiniTOC1:hover
{
	text-decoration: underline;
	color: #990000;
	font-size: .9em;
	font-weight: normal;
}
Image

Lisa
Eagles may soar, but weasels aren't sucked into jet engines.
Warning! Loose nut behind the keyboard.
NorthEast
Master Propellus Maximus
Posts: 6359
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:33 am

Re: MiniTocProxy in v4 - FYI

Post by NorthEast »

Just as a general note, if you're struggling with finding out what styles to set, then have a look in your output files.

- Open a topic in your output and look at how the miniToc is structured, and what tags and classes are used.
- Open the MadCap.css file in the output and look at the 'default' properties that are used for those styles and classes.
srnowlin
Propeller Head
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Louisiana, US

Re: MiniTocProxy in v4 - FYI

Post by srnowlin »

Thanks, I will try your suggestions and let you know how it comes out.
Sandra Nowlin
Techwriter Monkey - not as functional as Bathroom Monkey
New Tech Computer Systems
NorthEast
Master Propellus Maximus
Posts: 6359
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:33 am

Re: MiniTocProxy in v4 - FYI

Post by NorthEast »

Yep, I also find that using Firebug (for Firefox) is a good way to examine problems in your output, it'll show you the source code for any element on a page, plus all its style properties and where they are set.
srnowlin
Propeller Head
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Louisiana, US

Re: MiniTocProxy in v4 - FYI

Post by srnowlin »

I was trying to figure out what you meant by looking at my output css, then it dawned me that you're referring to actual browser-based webhelp like here http://www.madcapsoftware.com/support/w ... efault.htm.

MIne is compiled into a chm :oops: I think I can go to the compile folder and view the madcap.css there?
Sandra Nowlin
Techwriter Monkey - not as functional as Bathroom Monkey
New Tech Computer Systems
srnowlin
Propeller Head
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Louisiana, US

Re: MiniTocProxy in v4 - FYI

Post by srnowlin »

Ok here is what I have - that is if I did this right.

This is what is referenced for the mini-toc in the madcap.css

Code: Select all

div.MCMiniTocBox
{
	padding-left: 20px;
	margin-top: 10px;
	padding-top: 10px;
	border-top-color: black;
	border-top-width: 1px;
	border-top-style: none;
	width: 350px;
}

p.MiniTOC1
{
	font-weight: bold;
	margin-left: 0pt;
	margin: 1.12em 0;
	display: block;
	font-size: 10pt;
	font-family: Segoe UI, Tahoma, Lucida Sans, Trebuchet MS;
}

a.MiniTOC1:link
{
	margin-left: 0;
	margin-right: 0;
	margin-top: 0;
	margin-bottom: 0;
	padding-left: 0;
	padding-right: 0;
	padding-top: 0;
	padding-bottom: 0;
	border-left-color: transparent;
	border-left-style: none;
	border-left-width: 0;
	border-right-color: transparent;
	border-right-style: none;
	border-right-width: 0;
	border-top-color: transparent;
	border-top-style: none;
	border-top-width: 0;
	border-bottom-color: transparent;
	border-bottom-style: none;
	border-bottom-width: 0;
	background-color: transparent;
	background-image: none;
	font-style: inherit;
	font-variant: inherit;
	text-transform: inherit;
	letter-spacing: inherit;
	word-spacing: inherit;
	text-align: inherit;
	mc-leader-format: '.';
	color: black;
	font-size: 10pt;
	font-family: Segoe UI, Tahoma, Lucida Sans, Trebuchet MS;
	font-weight: bold;
	text-decoration: none;
}
This is what my css file has (and I incorporated Lisa's suggestion)

Code: Select all

MadCap|miniTocProxy
{
	width: 350px;
	border-top-style: none;
	mc-toc-depth: 0;
}

a.MiniTOC1:link
{
	text-decoration: none;
	color: #003e74;
	font-size: .9em;
	font-weight: normal;
}

a.MiniTOC1:visited
{
	text-decoration: none;
	font-size: .9em;
	font-weight: normal;
	color: #800000;
}

a.MiniTOC1:focus
{
	text-decoration: none;
	font-size: .9em;
	font-weight: normal;
	color: #366092;
}

a.MiniTOC1:hover
{
	text-decoration: none;
	font-size: .9em;
	font-weight: bold;
	font-style: italic;
	color: #366092;
}
So if the madcap.css is located in the skinsupport, does this mean the line spacing is controlled there? I'm going to go check, I'm just musing on the message board.
Sandra Nowlin
Techwriter Monkey - not as functional as Bathroom Monkey
New Tech Computer Systems
KevinDAmery
Propellus Maximus
Posts: 1985
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 8:18 am
Location: Darn, I knew I was around here somewhere...

Re: MiniTocProxy in v4 - FYI

Post by KevinDAmery »

srnowlin wrote:I was trying to figure out what you meant by looking at my output css, then it dawned me that you're referring to actual browser-based webhelp like here http://www.madcapsoftware.com/support/w ... efault.htm.

MIne is compiled into a chm :oops: I think I can go to the compile folder and view the madcap.css there?
Also, you can right click on a topic in the CHM and use View Source. This way you can at least see which styles / classes are being used by each item.
Until next time....
Image
Kevin Amery
Certified MAD for Flare
srnowlin
Propeller Head
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Louisiana, US

Re: MiniTocProxy in v4 - FYI

Post by srnowlin »

KevinDAmery wrote: Also, you can right click on a topic in the CHM and use View Source. This way you can at least see which styles / classes are being used by each item.
Yup I figured that one out. I'm messing with the skin editor now to see if it will affect the line spacing. Thanks to Lisa I have my links in the mini-toc working properly. I just need to get them single spaced, at double spaced the mini-toc is taking up way too much viewing area.
Sandra Nowlin
Techwriter Monkey - not as functional as Bathroom Monkey
New Tech Computer Systems
LTinker68
Master Propellus Maximus
Posts: 7247
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 9:38 pm

Re: MiniTocProxy in v4 - FYI

Post by LTinker68 »

srnowlin wrote:So if the madcap.css is located in the skinsupport, does this mean the line spacing is controlled there?
At the moment it's coming from madcap.css because you don't have the style defined in your stylesheet, so it's going with the default. If you look at the p.MiniTOC1 line in your madcap.css, you'll see that it has a margin of 1.12em 0, which means the top and bottom have a margin of 1.12em and left and right are set to 0.

Specifying the margins for p.MiniTOC1 in the stylesheet in your project should overwrite the ones coming from madcap.css.
Image

Lisa
Eagles may soar, but weasels aren't sucked into jet engines.
Warning! Loose nut behind the keyboard.
srnowlin
Propeller Head
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Louisiana, US

Re: MiniTocProxy in v4 - FYI

Post by srnowlin »

I wonder when I wiped that out? I had it set once... :?

Anyway, it looks "normal" again.

Well now that I know where to go to edit what, maybe I'll like this. Thanks everyone.
Sandra Nowlin
Techwriter Monkey - not as functional as Bathroom Monkey
New Tech Computer Systems
siskamoens
Propeller Head
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 3:01 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: MiniTocProxy in v4 - FYI

Post by siskamoens »

I'm having the same troubles here: fighting with the new MiniTOC styles.
But I can't get them to work.

I now have these styles defined in my stylesheet (Styles.css):

Code: Select all

a.MiniTOC1:link
{
	text-decoration: none;
	color: #009fce;
}

a.MiniToc1:hover
{
	cursor: hand;
	text-decoration: underline;
	color: #009fce;
}
but Firebug still only sees the Madcap style sheet when it comes to MiniTOCs:

Code: Select all

a.MiniTOC1:link {MadCap.css (line 298)
background-color:transparent;
background-image:none;
border:0pt none transparent;
color:black;
font-family:inherit;
font-size:inherit;
font-style:inherit;
font-variant:inherit;
font-weight:bold;
letter-spacing:inherit;
margin:0pt;
padding:0pt;
text-align:inherit;
text-decoration:none;
text-transform:inherit;
word-spacing:inherit;
}
a:hover {Styles.css (line 99)
color:#009FCE;
text-decoration:underline;
}
a:link {Styles.css (line 80)
color:#009FCE;
text-decoration:none;
}
Doe sanyone have a clue why?

Siska
lacastle
Propellus Maximus
Posts: 1028
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 7:28 am
Location: Wilmington, DE
Contact:

Re: MiniTocProxy in v4 - FYI

Post by lacastle »

You should be changing p.MiniToc1, not a.
See if that makes a difference.
siskamoens
Propeller Head
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 3:01 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: MiniTocProxy in v4 - FYI

Post by siskamoens »

Oops, seems like I had a bit of a a caching problem...
A browser restart suddenly fixed my problem...
carsten801
Jr. Propeller Head
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 1:31 am

Re: MiniTocProxy in v4 - FYI

Post by carsten801 »

Hi to all,

dumb question:
Is there a way to get rid of the MadCap.css?

or

How do i change/edit the MadCap.css global?

and WHY is there a default style fpr a.MiniTOC:link in MadCap.css

Best regards
Carsten
KevinDAmery
Propellus Maximus
Posts: 1985
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 8:18 am
Location: Darn, I knew I was around here somewhere...

Re: MiniTocProxy in v4 - FYI

Post by KevinDAmery »

Madcap.css is used to define styles that will be included in the help system but which you may or may not have defined in your normal stylesheet. However, it shouldn't cause you any problems for styles that you have defined in your main stylesheet, due to stylesheet precedence rules. Since the main stylesheet is always the last one listed in the stylesheet declarations, any styles in it take precedence over earlier stylesheets, including madcap.css.

So, if you aren't happy with the definition for a.MiniTOC:link in the madcap.css, just modify that style in your main stylesheet and it will over-ride the one in madcap.css.
Until next time....
Image
Kevin Amery
Certified MAD for Flare
LTinker68
Master Propellus Maximus
Posts: 7247
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 9:38 pm

Re: MiniTocProxy in v4 - FYI

Post by LTinker68 »

Unfortunately, I think you have to manually add that style to the stylesheet file -- it's not an option directly available through the Stylesheet Editor. Right-click on the stylesheet file and select Open with > Internal Text Editor. Insert the following code (in this order) into the stylesheet file (make sure you're not pasting it into the @media print section). Save the stylesheet file and close it from the Internal Text Editor. Then open the Stylesheet Editor again -- you'll now see these styles under the <a> tag, so you can modify them through the editor like you would any other style.

Also, if you want to control the style of the links for the second level of the mini-TOC, then follow the same procedure, but this time the styles would be named a.MiniTOC2:link and so on.

Code: Select all

a.MiniTOC1:link
{

}

a.MiniTOC1:visited
{

}

a.MiniTOC1:focus
{

}

a.MiniTOC1:hover
{

}
Image

Lisa
Eagles may soar, but weasels aren't sucked into jet engines.
Warning! Loose nut behind the keyboard.
ENJ
Propeller Head
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 8:35 am

Re: MiniTocProxy in v4 - FYI

Post by ENJ »

I just upgraded to Flare v4. Now my mini TOC links appear as bolded (thanks, now I know where to change it to 'normal'). But the part that I still cannot figure out is as soon as you click on one of those links, it changes from bold to underlined/blue (looks more like a hyperlink). I want those miniTOC links to always look underlined/blue (more obvious that it is a hyperlink).
Can someone please point me to the place where I can change them all to underlined/blue?
KevinDAmery
Propellus Maximus
Posts: 1985
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 8:18 am
Location: Darn, I knew I was around here somewhere...

Re: MiniTocProxy in v4 - FYI

Post by KevinDAmery »

You'll have to modify the pseudo classes as well - in other words, the hover, active, and visited states.
Until next time....
Image
Kevin Amery
Certified MAD for Flare
Post Reply