Generating Output Files on TFS for final Build

This forum is for all Flare issues related to using Source Control.
Post Reply
RobWilli
Jr. Propeller Head
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 11:10 am

Generating Output Files on TFS for final Build

Post by RobWilli »

We use TFS 2010 to store our Flare projects. We would like to be able to generate output documents from Flare on a TFS team build computer. These output files will be picked up by InstallShield on the team build computer to be part of the final installer.

We would like to know:
• Can Flare be run from a team build to generate output files?
• What are the steps involved to perform this?
• Is a separate license required for a TFS team build copy of Flare?
RamonS
Senior Propellus Maximus
Posts: 4293
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 9:29 am
Location: The Electric City

Re: Generating Output Files on TFS for final Build

Post by RamonS »

MadCap sells discounted licenses of Flare to use as command line build tool. I am not that familiar with team builder, but my guess is that a custom step can be added, which would be the command line build of Flare. Once the build completes InstallShield should be able to pick up the files. Your best bet is to contact Madcap and ask them.
funkycrab
Jr. Propeller Head
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 2:04 pm

Re: Generating Output Files on TFS for final Build

Post by funkycrab »

We would like to know:
• Can Flare be run from a team build to generate output files? Yes, you can do this a couple of ways
• What are the steps involved to perform this?
(1) Run a separate msbuild project file that can <Exec> out to madbuild.exe.
<Exec Command=""$(MadBuildExe)" -project "$(FlareProject)" -target "$(FlareTarget)" -log true" />

(2) Use the InvokeProcess activity with in the TeamBuild Workflow xaml to call the madbuild.exe. You can even set parameters in the build definition to feed the variables.

• Is a separate license required for a TFS team build copy of Flare? MadBuild.exe is already a part of the Standard MadCap Flare Install but if you want it to be on a build machine then you will need to purchase a build license at a lower cost. There is no IDE with the build license version.
Post Reply