Source Control - Help needed after newbie misktake

This forum is for all Flare issues related to using Source Control.
dawn_99
Jr. Propeller Head

Source Control - Help needed after newbie misktake

Post by dawn_99 »

I am very new to using source control! This morning, pre-coffee, I opened the Flare file that I originally tied to Source Control – not an imported local copy - the original file I bound to source control. I then clicked View History and I think I clicked Get Selected Version – though I hadn’t intentionally selected anything.

The project file does appear to have all of my most recent changes (checked in yesterday), but is no longer tied to source control – because as I understand it, the historical copy “replaced” the previous copy. And there are no source control options anymore - they are all greyed out.

I am using Subversion for source control and I don't know how to use directly, I just use it through the Flare interface. My local copy is still tied to Subversion.

What do I do now? Do I need to tie the original file back to Source Control a second time?
SteveS
Senior Propellus Maximus
Location: Adelaide, far side of the world ( 34°56'0.78\"S 138°46'44.28\"E).

Re: Source Control - Help needed after newbie misktake

Post by SteveS »

Hi Dawn,

Welcome to the forums. :D

First thing I'd do is have that cup of coffee (in a mug with an extra shot...) :wink:

Without knowing the details I can still say don't panic. The beauty of source control is it allows you to step back in time, so your files should still be there. I've not used Subversion, ony TFS, so I'm not sure of the process to recover a past version, but I imagine you will have to use the Subversion interface for the recovery.

Hang on, someone with subversion is bound to chime in at any time now...
Steve
Life's too short for bad coffee, bad chocolate, and bad red wine.
Nita Beck
Senior Propellus Maximus

Post by Nita Beck »

Hi Dawn,

I'll see if I can help.