Page 1 of 1

Flare 12 does not work with TFS 2015 (source control)

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2016 11:30 pm
by ndscap
Hi,

We had to upgrade our server to Team Foundation Server 2015.1
After opening a project which is connected so source control, I get messages "the workspace X;<Name> already exists on computer <A>"

How do i get my flare project connected to tfs2015???????????

With the older version it also was a problem to get it connected. Do not tell me this hasn't been fixed in the past 2 years.

Re: Flare 12 does not work with TFS 2015 (source control)

PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2016 4:17 am
by RamonS
I'm using TFS2015 with Flare 12 without problems. The one thing that Flare requires is that the workspace is kept on the server, not the local machine. I ran into the same issue, see this thread:
viewtopic.php?f=68&t=27016

Re: Flare 12 does not work with TFS 2015 (source control)

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2016 11:22 pm
by ndscap
Hi

Because of the structure in our company and the build process I do need a local workspace.

What now?

Re: Flare 12 does not work with TFS 2015 (source control)

PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 4:55 am
by RamonS
Your best bet is to contact MadCap support and file a bug report for good measure. If Flare wants to be a fully functional TFS client it needs to support all operating modes.

Re: Flare 12 does not work with TFS 2015 (source control)

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2016 12:04 pm
by roboHAL
I too am using TFS 2015. There is at least one bug (agreed by MadCap technical) I've reported and it has been assigned a reference number to be fixed in a future release. Namely, you may no longer have your output destination folder be located inside of your project folder, otherwise Flare 12 (but not 11) expects those output files to be checked in.

I have also observed that Flare 12 is very slow (2 minutes) to close a project that is bound to source control, whereas the same project files unbound closes immediately.

Point is, I agree there are Flare 12 - TFS 2015 integration issues, but remain hopeful their engineering/development staff will resolve whatever is reported and they become aware of.

Re: Flare 12 does not work with TFS 2015 (source control)

PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2016 7:02 am
by eugene_bruk
I use Flare 12 with TFS 2015 without any problems. Your workspace can be local, no problem here as well. However, the workspace name must match the hosting computer name.

Re: Flare 12 does not work with TFS 2015 (source control)

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2016 11:19 am
by jsandora
the workspace name must match the hosting computer name.


Can you elaborate on that a little please? Just not sure what is meant by "workspace name" and "hosting computer name."

I've been using Flare with TFS for nearly 5 years now, and have just started running into issues where check-ins take forever or totally hang. Even the simple act of closing a project takes a while, whereas before (before what, I'm not sure) it was instant.

I have all my projects mapped to my local machine, though the folder structures on my computer and in TFS don't match exactly. But again, that's never been an issue before.

EDIT: TechOps team said our servers are actually TFS2012, if that matters.

Re: Flare 12 does not work with TFS 2015 (source control)

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2016 12:50 pm
by roboHAL
jsandora, I understand your question is meant for eugene_bruk because he has stated that the workspace name must match the machine name. Personally I do not know for sure so cannot say whether that is correct or not. In all likelihood it will not resolve or be the cause of your issue(s) becuase as you've pointed out it was working previous to Flare V12. Also, it doesn't matter that your on 2012 instead of 2015 but again that likely wont be the cause of your issue(s).

To check the work space name - and in my case it is the same as the machine name - as viewed via the Workspace Manager window there are fields for Name, Server, Owner, Computer, Location, File Time (this I do not think is available in 2012) and Permissions. The Name and the Computer fields are text, so it's unclear to me why it should matter. It is here you can add, edit, etc. the workspace manager is accessible from the Solutions portion of the Team Explorer Home window.

The unfortunate reality though is there are legitimate issues with Flare V12 and TFS integration. Apparently different users are experiencing different problems. Hopefully MadCap can prioritize the issue accordingly and resolve them.

Re: Flare 12 does not work with TFS 2015 (source control)

PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2016 8:07 am
by eugene_bruk
jsandora, the computer name is that's displayed when you run "hostname" command in your command prompt (or, what's displayed in Computer icon on your Desktop). The workspace is the name of your TFS workspace. In general, it can be given any name, such as MyWorkspace, MyWorkspace_MyProject, etc., but we found out in order for Flare integration to work, it has to be the same as your computer name. Thanks!