Flare, Subversion and TortoiseSVN

This forum is for all Flare issues related to using Source Control.
benpja
Propeller Head

Flare, Subversion and TortoiseSVN

Post by benpja »

Hi All,

I need your wisdom, im a newbie to Flareand I have realized that although Flares/Subversion is good, using TortoiseSVN will allow me to Branch/Tag will give greater functionality

Does anyone know of an idiots guide to using tortoisesvn with Flare. (one that explains procedures on how to merge, branch and tag)

Thanks in advance
B
Nita Beck
Senior Propellus Maximus

Re: Flare, Subversion and TortoiseSVN

Post by Nita Beck »

Welcome to the forums! :)

I don't know that there is such a guide. But I can offer some general advice, based on my experience using Flare, Subversion, and TortoiseSVN.

Use Flare to bind the project to the SVN repo, and then use it to commit, revert, get updates, etc. Use Flare also to import a project from the SVN repo.

But for all other operations (branching, merging, tagging), and with Flare CLOSED and all files committed, use TortoiseSVN. Flare cannot do any of those SVN operations on its own. If you need to work in a branch, you will end up with two working copies of the Flare project on your computer, one pointing to the trunk and one pointing to the branch. Later, when you need to merge changes made in the branch back into the trunk (or from one branch to another branch, or from the trunk to the branch... whichever direction it is you need to go), first make sure both of your working copies have the latest updates. Then, with Flare CLOSED, use TortoiseSVN to handle the merging, which BTW you do within Windows Explorer, not in the repo. The process is all documented in TortoiseSVN's Help system.

I hope this helps. I know it's rather a bit of shorthand.
Nita
RETIRED, but still fond of all the Flare friends I've made. See you around now and then!
benpja
Propeller Head

Post by benpja »

Great thank you, that has answered a few questions.