"Commit required to synchronize"

This forum is for all Flare issues related to using Source Control.

"Commit required to synchronize"

Postby chuck_agari on Mon Oct 29, 2018 10:42 am

OK, I hate Git. Most everyone I have every talked to hates Git. Yet it's still used, seemingly everywhere. So I muddle along.

I was able to get my Flare project successfully in Git, GitHub, to be exact. It's not the fastest, to be sure, largely because I'm on a MBP in Parallels and my project is on a shared drive.

I thought I had a workflow down: View the Pending Changes, commit the changes, and then synchronize. This worked successfully several times, and I was happy. But it seems it worked because I had committed all the files that changed.

I then began work on several tickets at once. I got one done, and wanted to "check in" only the files for that ticket. I committed 2 files, the files I had finished with, and tried to synchronize. I got a dialog box:

Commit required to synchronize.
Do you want to commit now?
- Yes - - No -

If I click "Yes," I get the "option" to commit the rest of the files that I've changed. If I click "No," nothing happens--at least as far as I can tell.

I'm guessing that "Synchronize" is the wrong step to take to "check in" a subset of changed files, but I don't know what the correct step would be--if it is even possible in the Flare UI.

Any Git experts can give me some guidance?
chuck_agari
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 192
Joined: Wed May 30, 2018 2:40 pm

Re: "Commit required to synchronize"

Postby Nita Beck on Tue Oct 30, 2018 4:35 pm

In order to invoke any operation in which your local repo will interact with the remote repo, you have to first make sure that all pending changes are committed to the local repo. This means that before you can push, pull, or sync, if there are pending changes, Flare will prompt you to commit to your local repo. This interaction between the local and remote repos is standard Git, AFAIK.

On the Pending Changes list (which I tend not to use, so I’m going on memory here), aren’t you able to selectively choose which files you want to commit? But, even so, you won’t be able to sync with (or push to or pull from) the remote repo until everything’s committed to your local repo.
Nita
Image
Content Strategist / Information Architect / Flare Consultant: http://beck-communications.com
Manager, Rochester Flare User Group: http://www.facebook.com/RochesterFlareUserGroup
Nita Beck
Senior Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 3290
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 9:57 am
Location: Pittsford, NY

Re: "Commit required to synchronize"

Postby chuck_agari on Wed Oct 31, 2018 11:52 am

Yeah, that's what I did--or tried to do. I had 2 files that I had finished with, so I wanted to synchronize those to the remote repository, while other files I was still working on for other Jiras.

The latter, I'm still tracking changes on, and I don't want any files with tracked changes in the remote repository. Or at least, I think i don't. I was thinking that I wanted "clean" files "up there." Am I wrong to think that way?
chuck_agari
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 192
Joined: Wed May 30, 2018 2:40 pm


Return to Source Control

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest