Best route to take on condition tags/snippets

This forum is for Single-Sourcing your Flare content to multiple outputs.
shloter
Propeller Head

Best route to take on condition tags/snippets

Post by shloter »

I am new to Flare and need some advice on single sourcing, condition tags and snippets for a future large HTML database. The database will be comprised of many individual product pages that will include some information intended for only advanced users. The majority of the information in the pages will come from product documentation that will be periodically updated (think subsections here). The problem here is that the information on the topic pages is subdivided into separate areas based on the information in the subsections (think subA has info on 1, 2, and 3 areas and subB has info on 1 and 4 areas). Would it be better served to take the subsections and make them into snippets with the understanding that the snippets may then contain several sub-snippets depending on their areas of inclusion? or would it be best to manually include the various subsection information and only condition tag the information that would be excluded for some viewers?

Apologies if I am unclear in this description. We plan on having multiple outputs in the future but would like to be able to single type (ie snippet) information wherever it is logical. The problem I am running into is that we now have a large number of snippets to deal with and we are only about 25% complete on the database build. Is it possible to have too many snippets built into individual topics? Does that risk issues in the future?
NorthEast
Master Propellus Maximus

Re: Best route to take on condition tags/snippets

Post by NorthEast »

Snippets and conditions are used for different purposes:

* Use snippets for any text which is repeated in multiple places.