Large images in table cells causing problems in Print output

This forum is for Single-Sourcing your Flare content to multiple outputs.

Large images in table cells causing problems in Print output

Postby joeslevinevm2 on Tue Apr 18, 2017 10:11 am

I have some large images in table cells that look fine in HTML5 output. But when producing PDF, it looks like they're too large, and I'm getting the error message shown in the attached file (Table header is too large ...). I don't think the problem actually has to do with table headers, as they're actually not very large. I'm sure the problem is the large images. Any chance the issue could have to do with image format? These are using old .BMPs. Any ideas appreciated.



<table class="TableStyle-Basic_3_column_table" style="width: 530px;caption-side: top;mc-table-style: url('../Resources/TableStyles/Basic 3 column table.css');" cellspacing="0">
<caption valign="top" style="padding-bottom: 6pt;">
<p class="TableTitle">PortfolioONE Account Asset Allocation Customization</p>
</caption>
<col width="121px" class="TableStyle-Basic_3_column_table-Column-Column1" />
<col width="543px" class="TableStyle-Basic_3_column_table-Column-Column2" />
<thead>
<tr class="TableStyle-Basic_3_column_table-Head-Header1">
<td class="TableStyle-Basic_3_column_table-HeadE-Column1-Header1">
<p class="TableHead">Field</p>
</td>
<td class="TableStyle-Basic_3_column_table-HeadD-Column2-Header1">
<p class="TableHead">Definition</p>
</td>
</tr>
</thead>
<tbody>
<tr class="TableStyle-Basic_3_column_table-Body-Body1">
<td class="TableStyle-Basic_3_column_table-BodyE-Column1-Body1">
<p class="TablePara">Follow the targets of the investment objective</p>
</td>
<td class="TableStyle-Basic_3_column_table-BodyD-Column2-Body1">
<p class="TablePara">This is the default choice. The account will follow the targets as specified by the investment objective; no asset allocation customization will be used. When this option is selected, there are no customizable fields available on the Asset Allocation view within the account customization wizard.</p>
<p class="TablePara">This option will also reset an account that was previously customized, back to the allocation of its investment objective. </p>
</td>
</tr>
<tr class="TableStyle-Basic_3_column_table-Body-Body2">
<td class="TableStyle-Basic_3_column_table-BodyE-Column1-Body2">
<p class="TablePara">Override the investment objective with specific target weights</p>
</td>
<td class="TableStyle-Basic_3_column_table-BodyD-Column2-Body2">
<p class="TablePara">Select this option if you wish to override the investment objective and customize the target weights. When this option is selected, customizable fields appear on the Asset Allocation view within the account customization wizard.</p>
<p>
<img src="TAPcustom5.bmp" />
</p>
<p class="TablePara">For an example, see <MadCap:xref href="#accountmgmt_2332001457_1156493"><span class="xlink">Example: Customized Specific Account Asset Allocation</span></MadCap:xref>.</p>
<p class="TablePara">When you edit the Target %, the bar and pie charts change dynamically to reflect your change.</p>
<p>
<img src="TAPcustom6.bmp" />
</p>
</td>
</tr>
<tr class="TableStyle-Basic_3_column_table-Body-Body1">
<td class="TableStyle-Basic_3_column_table-BodyE-Column1-Body1">
<p class="TablePara">&#160;</p>
</td>
<td class="TableStyle-Basic_3_column_table-BodyD-Column2-Body1">
<p class="TablePara">Your target must equal 100% to be approvable. Also, you are warned to correct any data errors (e.g., a Target % that is not between the Minimum % and Maximum %). You cannot save your customizations if there are errors. </p>
<p>
<img src="TAPcustom7.bmp" />
</p>
</td>
</tr>
<tr class="TableStyle-Basic_3_column_table-Body-Body2">
<td class="TableStyle-Basic_3_column_table-BodyB-Column1-Body2">
<p class="TablePara">Specify relative tilts from the investment objective</p>
</td>
<td class="TableStyle-Basic_3_column_table-BodyA-Column2-Body2">
<p class="TablePara">Select this option to customize the account to follow a "tilted" (i.e., adjusted) version of its investment objective. When this option is selected, the "Account Tilt %" field appears on the Asset Allocation view within the account customization wizard. Note that the "Minimum %" and "Maximum %" values also adjust by the "Account Tilt %".</p>
<p class="TablePara">For an example, see <MadCap:xref href="#accountmgmt_2332001457_1156619"><span class="xlink">Example: Customized Relative Account Asset Allocation (Tilt)</span></MadCap:xref>. </p>
<p>
<img src="TAPcustom8.bmp" />
</p>
<p class="TablePara">When you edit the Account Tilt %, the bar and pie charts change dynamically to reflect your change.</p>
<p class="TablePara">Your target must equal 100% to be approvable. </p>
</td>
</tr>
</tbody>
</table>
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
joeslevinevm2
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2016 10:22 am

Re: Large images in table cells causing problems in Print ou

Postby Daniel Ferguson on Tue Apr 18, 2017 9:46 pm

It's hard to tell, but I would start with adjusting (or preferably, removing) the inline styles that you have set for the table and column widths.

In the <table> tag, you've got "style="width: 530px,"" which is restricting the overall width of the table to 530px. In the <col> tags, you're setting a width of 121px to column 1 and 543px to column 2. Those two values obviously add up to more than the 530px you've allotted for the whole table. In my opinion, it is better to set these widths as percentages, and to set them in the tablestyle, not in the topic. That allows the table to adjust itself based on the width that is available to it, regardless of what output or format you're generating, and it gives you the ability to control these widths based on the tablestyle so you don't have to make topic-by-topic adjustments.

A very typical scenario that I see is people giving the table itself 100% width (meaning it will take up all the width available for it to use), and then giving column 1 25% width and column 2 75% width (or 20-80). If you don't want your table taking up all the width, maybe you could set it to 80% or something instead of 100%.

This may or may not fix the errors, but that's the first red flag that I see. My recommendation is to fix those widths, and then see what happens. If you're still getting a warning, then we can take the next troubleshooting step.
Daniel Ferguson
Certified Flare Trainer & Consultant
smartoutput.com
Daniel Ferguson
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 12:34 pm
Location: Salt Lake City


Return to Single-Sourcing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest