Multiple webhelp sites - same content folder

This forum is for Single-Sourcing your Flare content to multiple outputs.
sarahwilliams
Jr. Propeller Head

Multiple webhelp sites - same content folder

Post by sarahwilliams »

Hi all -

I'm new to Flare - so if this is a dumb question - sorry in advance.

I'm documenting a software suite that has multiple versions. Imagine Microsoft Office - You have Word, Excel, PowerPoint 2003 and Word, Excel, PowerPoint 2007.

I want to create one webhelp site that has all the versions and components, and then component specific help that is context sensitive. I'd like to have one content folder that they all link to so that I am not replicating files and taking up unnecessary space.

I've already played with changing the output file name in multiple targets, the issue I am having is that the data folder containing the toc remains the same name and overwrites.

Is there a more elegant solution for this? Am I going about this the wrong way?
RamonS
Senior Propellus Maximus

Re: Multiple webhelp sites - same content folder

Post by RamonS »

Since you want to keep anything in regards to CSH separate why not making a project for the CSH content for each product. You won't use that content with any other application. Then use an additional project for all the common content. Within the application for example Help > General Help would open the common project. Pressing F1 or a Help button would make calls to the CSH content.
While this is the easiest approach that doesn't even make use of single-sourcing it has a few drawbacks. The one I'd dislike most is that you cannot use search in the common help to find something in the product specific CSH content, because those are in the end to independent help projects. My guess is that you do not want to do that.