Google analytics (or similar) in a CHM?

This forum is for all Flare issues related to the Microsoft HTML Help target.
This target produces "CHM" files in the output.

Google analytics (or similar) in a CHM?

Postby Paul_N on Mon Sep 02, 2019 2:53 am

Hi all. I was wondering if anyone had managed to get Google analytics (or similar) working from CHM help? I have a couple of old products to maintain that still have a big user base. It would be very useful to find out which bits of the help are accessed the most.

This old thread from 2013 asks the same question (unanswered), so I suspect the answer is that you can't use analytics with CHMs, but no harm in asking!
viewtopic.php?f=8&t=17338&p=91607&hilit=google+analytics+chm#p91607

I'm using Flare 2019 on Windows.
Paul_N
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 5:57 am
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Re: Google analytics (or similar) in a CHM?

Postby SKamprowski on Mon Sep 02, 2019 4:50 am

Hi,

your customers might have problems if you publish a chm on a network drive, unless they have really old Internet Explorer versions installed!
Kind regards,
Sabine Kamprowski
DocToHelp MVP (by ComponentOne)
SKamprowski
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 251
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2015 8:25 am
Location: Germany

Re: Google analytics (or similar) in a CHM?

Postby Paul_N on Mon Sep 02, 2019 9:07 am

SKamprowski wrote:Hi,

your customers might have problems if you publish a chm on a network drive, unless they have really old Internet Explorer versions installed!



True - I have low expectations of success for Google Analytics in a CHM...
Paul_N
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 5:57 am
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Re: Google analytics (or similar) in a CHM?

Postby Dave Lee on Mon Sep 02, 2019 11:49 pm

Google Analytics is designed to collect analytics for pages on a web server, but a CHM is deployed in your local file system rather than a web server.

A quick Google search suggests it's possible to get GA working on a local file system, but involves modifying some of the GA code to get it working.

However, even if that works on a local web page, I've no idea if that would also work for a CHM, because a CHM is effectively running in IE7 compatibility mode and is quite restrictive.

SKamprowski wrote:your customers might have problems if you publish a chm on a network drive, unless they have really old Internet Explorer versions installed!


That isn't really related to GA, but CHMs don't run from a network drive at all, as Windows security will block them.
Dave Lee
Master Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 5657
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:33 am
Location: UK


Return to Microsoft CHM Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest