Is there a workaround for the hardcoded stop-word list?

This forum is for all Flare issues related to the HTML5, WebHelp, WebHelp Plus, and Adobe Air Targets

Is there a workaround for the hardcoded stop-word list?

Postby Tova Cohen on Thu Feb 25, 2016 3:21 pm

We use Flare 11.1 to generate HTML5 tripane output. We just noticed that a search for the SQL keyword, "between" yields no results when there are a number of topics that refer to this SQL statement. This is because "between" is on a stop-word list. Has anyone found a workaround that disables this list? I contacted Madcap support about this and got this response:

Currently, editing the stop-word list is not a feature that is compatible with HTML5 outputs. This list is hard-coded into the application. I found a hack that will allow you to add words to the stop-word list, but, unfortunately, there is not currently a workaround to remove words from the stop-word list.

I have submitted a feature request on your behalf to our Product Managers who work with our Research and Development team regarding future versions of our products. If this is released in a future version, you'll be notified via email referencing report #111715.


Thanks!
Tova
Tova Cohen
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2015 9:48 am

Re: Is there a workaround for the hardcoded stop-word list?

Postby John Halliday on Wed Oct 11, 2017 9:12 am

We, also, are stymied by the stop words list. The words about, between, and include are important search terms for us.
We use Flare 2017 r2 to generate HTML5 output.
The help (http://help.madcapsoftware.com/flare201 ... -Words.htm) indicates that the entire stop word list can be included but I don't see the Include "Stop-Words" in Search checkbox on the target's Performance tab.

Is this "feature" supported for HTML5 output?
John Halliday
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2017 5:03 pm

Re: Is there a workaround for the hardcoded stop-word list?

Postby roboHAL on Fri Oct 20, 2017 8:21 am

John Halliday wrote:We, also, are stymied by the stop words list. The words about, between, and include are important search terms for us.
We use Flare 2017 r2 to generate HTML5 output.
The help (http://help.madcapsoftware.com/flare201 ... -Words.htm) indicates that the entire stop word list can be included but I don't see the Include "Stop-Words" in Search checkbox on the target's Performance tab.

Is this "feature" supported for HTML5 output?


Hi John. I believe the answer to your question is no. The same article you reference begins with "Outputs Supported", and HTML5 is not listed. :(

Granted, it should be supported. And, on a word-by-word basis. :)
roboHAL
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 9:57 am


Return to Web-based Outputs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests