Add Search Bar to Home Page in Tri-Pane?

This forum is for all Flare issues related to the HTML5, WebHelp, WebHelp Plus, and Adobe Air Targets

Add Search Bar to Home Page in Tri-Pane?

Postby DougieChimes on Wed Apr 20, 2016 2:12 pm

Hello,

I've been trying, without success (and using David Lee's tutorial), to move the Search Bar to the center of the header in the Tri-Pane skin.

After working on this for hours - I have another question:

Can I add a Search Bar to my Home Page, like in TopNav, but in Tri-Pane?

This would also solve my issue.

Thanks in advance!
DougieChimes
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2016 7:48 am

Re: Add Search Bar to Home Page in Tri-Pane?

Postby Dave Lee on Thu Apr 21, 2016 12:28 am

It's absolutely positioned, and defaults to something like {right: 14px}, so you really just need to mess around with the left and right properties; e.g.

Code: Select all
.search-bar { right: 35%; }
Dave Lee
Master Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 5982
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:33 am
Location: UK

Re: Add Search Bar to Home Page in Tri-Pane?

Postby kwag_myers on Thu Apr 21, 2016 4:46 am

DougieChimes wrote:Can I add a Search Bar to my Home Page, like in TopNav, but in Tri-Pane?

Yes. You can insert a Search Bar Proxy in either the Topic or Master Page and set the properties for MadCap|searchBarProxy in the CSS. I use the Master Page for my topics so the Search Bar is available in the header of every page.
"I'm tryin' to think, but nothin' happens!" - Curly Joe Howard
kwag_myers
Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 810
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 11:36 am
Location: Ann Arbor, MI

Re: Add Search Bar to Home Page in Tri-Pane?

Postby Dave Lee on Thu Apr 21, 2016 5:40 am

kwag_myers wrote:
DougieChimes wrote:Can I add a Search Bar to my Home Page, like in TopNav, but in Tri-Pane?

Yes. You can insert a Search Bar Proxy in either the Topic or Master Page and set the properties for MadCap|searchBarProxy in the CSS. I use the Master Page for my topics so the Search Bar is available in the header of every page.


No, you can't use a search bar proxy in a tripane skin - it only works for the top nav skin (or no skin at all).

It's in the help: http://webhelp.madcapsoftware.com/flare ... ht=tripane
Dave Lee
Master Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 5982
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:33 am
Location: UK

Re: Add Search Bar to Home Page in Tri-Pane?

Postby DougieChimes on Thu Apr 21, 2016 7:54 am

Dave Lee wrote:
No, you can't use a search bar proxy in a tripane skin - it only works for the top nav skin (or no skin at all).

It's in the help: http://webhelp.madcapsoftware.com/flare ... ht=tripane


OK - Dave Lee - the link you have above - that's exactly what I need! (The skin, at least.) I need a big central search bar, and I still need the side menu. That link is the exact layout I need.

What is it? Is that a topnav with a side menu added? How do I get that? Is that tripane with a custom search bar?
DougieChimes
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2016 7:48 am

Re: Add Search Bar to Home Page in Tri-Pane?

Postby Dave Lee on Fri Apr 22, 2016 12:33 am

DougieChimes wrote:
Dave Lee wrote:
No, you can't use a search bar proxy in a tripane skin - it only works for the top nav skin (or no skin at all).

It's in the help: http://webhelp.madcapsoftware.com/flare ... ht=tripane


OK - Dave Lee - the link you have above - that's exactly what I need! (The skin, at least.) I need a big central search bar, and I still need the side menu. That link is the exact layout I need.

What is it? Is that a topnav with a side menu added? How do I get that? Is that tripane with a custom search bar?


That is the top nav skin: http://webhelp.madcapsoftware.com/flare12/Default.htm
The menu at the side is a menu proxy.

That template used by Flare's help is provided with Flare - have a look at the supplied top nav templates.


Tripane looks like this: http://webhelp.madcapsoftware.com/flare10/Default.htm
Dave Lee
Master Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 5982
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:33 am
Location: UK

Re: Add Search Bar to Home Page in Tri-Pane?

Postby DougieChimes on Fri Apr 22, 2016 8:24 am

David Lee - Thank you!

You helped solve my dilemma. I'm now switching over to top nav. Spent too much time trying to get tripane to look and act like topnav, when I should have just converted.

Thanks again.
DougieChimes
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2016 7:48 am

Re: Add Search Bar to Home Page in Tri-Pane?

Postby jobo on Wed May 11, 2016 11:25 am

Can you call/use/enable a different search engine instead of the default Flare search engine for TopNav (but still use the pretty-looking GUI)?
John
jobo
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 10:35 am

Re: Add Search Bar to Home Page in Tri-Pane?

Postby Dave Lee on Thu May 12, 2016 12:17 am

jobo wrote:Can you call/use/enable a different search engine instead of the default Flare search engine for TopNav (but still use the pretty-looking GUI)?


Flare only provides one search engine, and there's nothing built-in which allows you to connect Flare's GUI to a third-party search engine.

You can use a third-party search engine, e.g. Google Custom Search, but the GUI will be whatever is provided/possible with that.
Dave Lee
Master Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 5982
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:33 am
Location: UK

Re: Add Search Bar to Home Page in Tri-Pane?

Postby JvdB on Fri May 14, 2021 1:39 am

Dave Lee wrote:ou can use a third-party search engine, e.g. Google Custom Search, but the GUI will be whatever is provided/possible with that.


Does anyone know how I would go about using/embedding a 3rd party search engine into a Flare project? I am particularly interested in Apache Solr (mostly because it's open source :) ).

We have an issue where legacy products currently only exist in PDF format, which we display on our top-nav help as links. (We have a Resources/Files folder where all PDFs exist, but also have links to these files within a Resources topic, amongst other places.) The content in these files was created before my time, and we haven't had a chance to pull it all into Flare yet. We're also expecting a replacement product in about 6 months' time (it's currently in development) so the current thinking is to document the new stuff only (which isn't available yet).

In the meantime, Flare's search engine doesn't pick up the PDFs, let alone search the text within them. We can't use the IIS workaround, as our site is hosted on an Amazon S3 server.

And I have had two people contact me this week in frustration because they can't find what they're looking for (even though the information exists within the project, just not as XML).

Any thoughts?
JvdB
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2020 2:05 am

Re: Add Search Bar to Home Page in Tri-Pane?

Postby JvdB on Thu May 20, 2021 1:41 am

bump! Surely someone out there has experience with this? :?:
JvdB
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2020 2:05 am

Re: Add Search Bar to Home Page in Tri-Pane?

Postby Dave Lee on Thu May 20, 2021 2:46 am

You'd integrate it with Flare in the same way as a regular website.

As mentioned though, Flare doesn't have the facility to connect the search box in its skin to a 3rd party search engine (just the different engines supported by Flare).

If you wanted the search box for your 3rd party engine in the skin/header area, then it's fairly easy to add a small script to move it there and replace the existing search box.
Dave Lee
Master Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 5982
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:33 am
Location: UK


Return to Web-based Outputs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: pfarrell and 6 guests