Search results topic not included in output

This forum is for all Flare issues related to the HTML5, WebHelp, WebHelp Plus, and Adobe Air Targets

Search results topic not included in output

Postby kolinkodm on Wed May 26, 2021 11:05 am

I am trying to add text to the top of the search results page and followed the steps on this site: http://help.madcapsoftware.com/flare201 ... esults.htm

I created a search-results.htm topic and a SearchResults.flskn skin. I then added text to the topic and inserted a Search results proxy that referenced the SearchResults.flskn skin. In the HTML5 target, I selected SearchResults.flksn in the Skin tab.

However, when I build, the search results topic is not being used in the output, so the text is not included.

I'm unsure what I'm doing wrong here.
kolinkodm
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2018 1:13 pm

Re: Search results topic not included in output

Postby Psider on Wed May 26, 2021 5:59 pm

Are you using Tripane output? if so, that topic says it's not supported for that output.
Psider
Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 693
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 1:32 am

Re: Search results topic not included in output

Postby kolinkodm on Thu May 27, 2021 12:27 pm

I am using a Top Navigation HTML 5 skin. My assumption is the target is not correctly finding the container topic that houses the search results proxy, and from research it seems like it's not something you can force, but instead Flare "finds" it itself.... which is odd and vague.

Any tips would be appreciated here
kolinkodm
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2018 1:13 pm

Re: Search results topic not included in output

Postby Psider on Thu May 27, 2021 7:50 pm

Maybe this topic can help? If not, I'm sure Dave or someone will drop in soon. :)

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29582&p=133725&hilit=search+results+proxy+custom+topic
Psider
Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 693
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 1:32 am

Re: Search results topic not included in output

Postby Dave Lee on Wed Jun 02, 2021 12:23 am

My guess would be that the search results topic is not being included in the target, because your target uses the setting Content to include - Content linked directly or indirectly from the target.
If you use that setting, then you must have a link to the search results topic from somewhere in your help.
Dave Lee
Master Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 5996
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:33 am
Location: UK

Re: Search results topic not included in output

Postby kolinkodm on Mon Jun 14, 2021 10:06 am

Dave Lee wrote:My guess would be that the search results topic is not being included in the target, because your target uses the setting Content to include - Content linked directly or indirectly from the target.
If you use that setting, then you must have a link to the search results topic from somewhere in your help.


Thank you Dave! This was the issue. Ideally the project would be conditioned, but we rely on this setting being enabled at the moment. As a fix, I cross-referenced the search results topic on the home page and set the display to "none". So now it's indirectly linked and the cross-reference is invisible.

Thanks again!
kolinkodm
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2018 1:13 pm


Return to Web-based Outputs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests