Flare 9 HTML5 and TocPath in page links

This forum is for all Flare issues related to the HTML5, WebHelp, WebHelp Plus, and Adobe Air Targets

Re: Flare 9 HTML5 and TocPath in page links

Postby 3lliot on Sun Mar 20, 2016 3:51 pm

WHY HAS THIS NOT BEEN TURNED OFF IN FLARE 12 ??!?!?!

ZOMFG

Now I have to find that code again...

*sigh*
3lliot
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 8:45 pm

Re: Flare 9 HTML5 and TocPath in page links

Postby 3lliot on Sun Mar 20, 2016 3:58 pm

It's the same code again:

Code: Select all
if(L!=null&&O){var T=y(W,true);L+=encodeURIComponent("?"+O+"Path="+T)}


Change it to this:

Code: Select all
/*if(L!=null&&O){var T=y(W,true);L+=encodeURIComponent("?"+O+"Path="+T)}*/


This time the file is in Program Files, not Program Files (x86):

Code: Select all
C:\Program Files\MadCap Software\MadCap Flare 12\Flare.app\Resources\WebHelp2\Desktop\Scripts\MadCapAll.js


Have tested it & it still works.
3lliot
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 8:45 pm

Re: Flare 9 HTML5 and TocPath in page links

Postby Rona Kwestel on Mon Mar 21, 2016 7:46 am

Thanks for the warning, 3lliot. I haven't upgraded yet, but will make a note to comment out that crufty code when I do.
Rona Kwestel
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 11:50 am

Re: Flare 9 HTML5 and TocPath in page links

Postby doc_guy on Fri Apr 01, 2016 11:01 am

I'd be curious to see what happens if you have a topic in the TOC multiple times, if the synchronize TOC feature still works with this code missing.
User avatar
doc_guy
Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 1776
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 11:18 am
Location: Crossroads of the West

Re: Flare 9 HTML5 and TocPath in page links

Postby rpa on Mon Nov 14, 2016 12:56 am

Since the Version 2016 r2, you need to change the following code in MadCapAll.js

Code: Select all
if(L!=null&&P&&O){var U=y(X,true);L+=encodeURIComponent("?"+P+"Path="+U)}


Change into this:

Code: Select all
/*if(L!=null&&P&&O){var U=y(X,true);L+=encodeURIComponent("?"+P+"Path="+U)}*/


I tested it and it worked for me
rpa
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2013 3:47 am
Location: Thurgau, Switzerland

Re: Flare 9 HTML5 and TocPath in page links

Postby 3lliot on Sun Feb 26, 2017 3:18 pm

Same code change tested & working for Flare 2017 also.

File is C:\Program Files\MadCap Software\MadCap Flare 13\Flare.app\Resources\WebHelp2\Desktop\Scripts\MadCapAll.js

Why we still have to do this for every release is beyond me
3lliot
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 8:45 pm

Re: Flare 9 HTML5 and TocPath in page links

Postby 3lliot on Thu May 11, 2017 8:03 pm

AAAAAAGH

why is this still happening

*facepalm*
3lliot
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 8:45 pm

Re: Flare 9 HTML5 and TocPath in page links

Postby 3lliot on Thu May 11, 2017 8:09 pm

The code has changed.

I suspect it's possibly this that now needs to be commented out:

if(MadCap.Utilities.HasRuntimeFileType("TriPane")){L+=encodeURIComponent("?"+Q+"Path="+V)}

If anyone with JS chops can verify that would be great.

I'll have to leave it on for now & subject many thousands of users to crappy URLs for a while.
3lliot
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 8:45 pm

Re: Flare 9 HTML5 and TocPath in page links

Postby 3lliot on Thu May 11, 2017 8:34 pm

In 2017 r2 they also apparently un-checked 'upload log file' for HTML5 destinations, which has been particularly annoying.
3lliot
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 8:45 pm

Re: Flare 9 HTML5 and TocPath in page links

Postby Michael Cohen on Wed May 17, 2017 12:44 pm

Has anyone found a solution to this yet? The Flare 2017 code changed so this old fix no longer works.
Michael Cohen
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 6:35 am

Re: Flare 9 HTML5 and TocPath in page links

Postby Kathy_123 on Wed May 24, 2017 1:58 pm

This is SO UGLY. I really want a fix to this. It's embarrassing to send someone the URL to a specific help page when the URL looks like utter trash.
Kathy_123
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 9:40 am

Re: Flare 9 HTML5 and TocPath in page links

Postby 3lliot on Wed May 24, 2017 2:21 pm

I asked technical support about it, this was the reply:

"It is not a recommended workflow to alter the Flare source files and is not covered under the umbrella of support. I will not be able to provide this workaround or updated versions of this workaround if/when it changes in future version. Apologies for the inconvenience that this TocPath string is causing."

Could anyone that doesn't like the crappy URLs please log it as a feature request https://www.madcapsoftware.com/feedback/featurerequest.aspx, it only takes 2 minutes.
3lliot
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 8:45 pm

Re: Flare 9 HTML5 and TocPath in page links

Postby 3lliot on Wed May 24, 2017 2:26 pm

Kathy_123 wrote:It's embarrassing to send someone the URL to a specific help page when the URL looks like utter trash.


You can just chop off the tocPath string after the filename - it's a PITA though when you have to deal with a lot of URLs.
3lliot
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 8:45 pm

Re: Flare 9 HTML5 and TocPath in page links

Postby Kathy_123 on Wed May 24, 2017 2:33 pm

Yah, that's the problem. Our support people like to send the URL to the FAQ pages.
Kathy_123
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 9:40 am

Re: Flare 9 HTML5 and TocPath in page links

Postby Jeanne_W on Tue May 30, 2017 2:01 pm

Hi, after upgrading to the latest 2017 r2 release, this workaround is no longer working. When I asked MadCap support about this, I got the following response:

The string that existed in the previous version is no longer available in r2. We are not able to provide a new workaround for this behavior, you would need to consult the forums as this is not an officially supported workflow. Sorry about the inconvenience.


Has anyone discovered a way to remove the path information in page links in the latest release?

Thanks,
Jeanne
Jeanne_W
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 11:50 pm

Re: Flare 9 HTML5 and TocPath in page links

Postby 3lliot on Sun Jun 18, 2017 9:26 pm

I've requested a feature to switch off the tocpath string multiple times with no success. If more people make the request, we might get it into the next build.

https://www.madcapsoftware.com/feedback ... quest.aspx

Why they proactively removed the only workaround is a mystery.
3lliot
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 8:45 pm

Re: Flare 9 HTML5 and TocPath in page links

Postby bgilliland on Wed Sep 06, 2017 6:58 pm

It appears that our wishes have been granted! I've had this forum topic bookmarked for years, but now there's an actual on/off toggle for this in 2017 r2!

http://help.madcapsoftware.com/flare201 ... ntries.htm

Target Editor > Advanced > Synchronize Navigation Elements with TOC Entries
"With this option enabled, you will notice that the URL paths for your topics are quite a bit longer and more complex...With the option disabled, the paths are much more streamlined."

I haven't tested it yet myself, as I've not committed to the r2 upgrade yet, but thought I'd share anyway and see how other's fare with the new feature.

Beth
bgilliland
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 12:44 pm

Re: Flare 9 HTML5 and TocPath in page links

Postby Fred Jongeneel on Mon Sep 25, 2017 10:59 am

I did install 2017 R2 to test this. Turns out that this setting only seems to be applicable for the TopNav layout. The TriPane output will show the TocPath string regardless of the setting of this flag. Of course we are using TriPane.

One of the biggest challenges we have with the TOC string (apart from it being ugly and confusing) is that it makes the URL go past 255 characters which is creating problems in other places like SharePoint that don't like long URL's. With R2 no longer having the option to edit the .js file we are now stuck on our current version (which seems to be V12).

Guess we might as well discontinue our service contract that entitles us to version updates....

Anybody at MadCap actually reading the forums? This has been going on for a few years now. Can you either include a flag to switch this off for the TriPane output or at least let us know if there is any way of disabling this through one of the .js files?

I'll have also entered a feature request to make the flag work for the TriPane output as well.
Fred Jongeneel
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 1:22 pm

Previous

Return to Web-based Outputs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests