Flare default Side Menu on Home Page

This forum is for all Flare issues related to the HTML5, WebHelp, WebHelp Plus, and Adobe Air Targets
Post Reply
jtrinkle
Jr. Propeller Head
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 10:47 am

Flare default Side Menu on Home Page

Post by jtrinkle »

I am using the default Flare Side Menu in my HTML5 project, but I want to eliminate it on just the Home Page because I have a custom icon-based menu in the topic. How can I eliminate the side menu from a single page/topic?
jsandora
Propeller Head
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 5:56 am
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Flare default Side Menu on Home Page

Post by jsandora »

If you're talking Top Nav, just create a new Masterpage layout that doesn't include the side menu proxy.

If you're referring to the tri-pane HTML5, I'm not sure there's a way to eliminate that left-side frame (that contains the TOC/search/glossary/etc).
Software Documentation Specialist (but really, Tech Writer)
jtrinkle
Jr. Propeller Head
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 10:47 am

Re: Flare default Side Menu on Home Page

Post by jtrinkle »

I am talking about the floating side menu that normally appears on the right side. In the published HTML5 output this menu has a div class = "sideContent". This menu will appear on every page, but I want to eliminate it from the target startup topic.
LTinker68
Master Propellus Maximus
Posts: 7247
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 9:38 pm

Re: Flare default Side Menu on Home Page

Post by LTinker68 »

Create a new masterpage layout, or copy the original masterpage with the side bar, then open that masterpage in the Internal Text Editor and delete the <div class="sideContent"> block. I did the same thing for the very same reason -- I didn't want the side block on the "title" page of each book.

You also need to create an html class in the stylesheet that has the mc-master-page property set to the masterpage you created. Then in the topic, you apply that html class to the html tag so it'll use the correct masterpage.
Image

Lisa
Eagles may soar, but weasels aren't sucked into jet engines.
Warning! Loose nut behind the keyboard.
jtrinkle
Jr. Propeller Head
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 10:47 am

Re: Flare default Side Menu on Home Page

Post by jtrinkle »

Thank you. You recommendation works just great. I was overthinking a fix and lost focus of how Flare works in layers. Your approach just changed some of the layers.
doc_guy
Propellus Maximus
Posts: 1979
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 11:18 am
Location: Crossroads of the West
Contact:

Re: Flare default Side Menu on Home Page

Post by doc_guy »

Welcome to the forums, jtrinkle!
Paul Pehrson
My Blog

Image
djohnson
Propeller Head
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue May 24, 2011 4:23 pm

Re: Flare default Side Menu on Home Page

Post by djohnson »

While looking for something else, I ran across this (over a year past the original post date), and I thought I'd share my solution.

Instead of creating a new MasterPage, I added a new class on html (html.nosidemenu).

My definition looks like this:

Code: Select all

html.nosidemenu ul.menu._Skins_SideMenu.mc-component { display: none; }
(My side menu skin is named SideMenu.)

You could get away with using

Code: Select all

html.nosidemenu div.sideContent { display: none; }
I didn't use this because this also hides the topic toolbar, which I want to display.

Then for pages where I don't want the side menu displayed, I set the html class to "nosidemenu".
Don Johnson
Flare 2020r3, Windows 10 in a Parallels VM on a 16" MacBook Pro [as of March 2021]
smajors
Sr. Propeller Head
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 9:28 am
Location: Midwest United States

Re: Flare default Side Menu on Home Page

Post by smajors »

Has anyone experienced the side menu and topic toolbar disappearing in the top nav output? We're currently implementing the new top nav layout and are still testing it before publishing. After building the output, sometimes the topic toolbar and side menu will display from ALL topics. I'm not sure if this is a bug or if it will be resolved when we officially publish to our server. Right now we're just building and viewing the output on our local H: drive.
Technical Writer
Training & Development Team/Marketing Department
cdschroeder
Sr. Propeller Head
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 9:18 am
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Re: Flare default Side Menu on Home Page

Post by cdschroeder »

smajors wrote:Has anyone experienced the side menu and topic toolbar disappearing in the top nav output? We're currently implementing the new top nav layout and are still testing it before publishing. After building the output, sometimes the topic toolbar and side menu will display from ALL topics. I'm not sure if this is a bug or if it will be resolved when we officially publish to our server. Right now we're just building and viewing the output on our local H: drive.
This happens to me occasionally (about 1 out of every 10 builds). Usually if I rebuild, everything is ok. I doubt it will resolve itself if you publish as-is. I would recommend that you rebuild and see what happens. If happens every build, check your master page and make sure everything is ok there. But if you're like me and just seeing it every once in a while, it's probably a bug.
Casey

Image
Post Reply