"X" in the search input field

This forum is for all Flare issues related to the HTML5, WebHelp, WebHelp Plus, and Adobe Air Targets
Post Reply
Herbert Poesch
Propeller Head
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 5:17 am

"X" in the search input field

Post by Herbert Poesch »

Hi,
I have a problem concerning the search input field of a HTML5 help system. Every time you enter a search term in that field, an "X" button is displayed in the right corner which is supposed to delete the search term entered.

In IE 11 and Edge, this button works. It is displayed, it can be clicked and it deletes the search term. In Chrome and Firefox, it is not displayed.
I have been asked by users who recognized this difference either not to display it in any browser or to make it display and work in all browsers.

I've checked it by the F12-Tool but it seems that it cannot be influenced by CSS. I also couldn't find such an element in Flare's internal stylesheets. So it seems to be a scripted element that is dynamically generated at runtime.

My question is: Does anyone know how to suppress this "X" button (I would prefer that solution)? Or - as an alternative - how to make it work in Chrome and Firefox?

Thanks in advance
Herbert Poesch
AlexFox
Sr. Propeller Head
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 1:56 am

Re: "X" in the search input field

Post by AlexFox »

Do you have an uploaded build we can examine?
Herbert Poesch
Propeller Head
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 5:17 am

Re: "X" in the search input field

Post by Herbert Poesch »

NorthEast
Master Propellus Maximus
Posts: 6359
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:33 am

Re: "X" in the search input field

Post by NorthEast »

MadCap's standard search doesn't have autocomplete, so what search is that using - elasticsearch?
Herbert Poesch
Propeller Head
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 5:17 am

Re: "X" in the search input field

Post by Herbert Poesch »

We have the standrad Flare search but extended by an autocomplete script (jquery.easy-autocomplete.js).
But that should not have an influence on the "X" button. I compared it to Flare's own help, it's the same result:
Displays and works in IE 11 and Edge, does not diplay in Chrome and Firefox.
NorthEast
Master Propellus Maximus
Posts: 6359
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:33 am

Re: "X" in the search input field

Post by NorthEast »

You don't get an "X" button with MadCap's standard search, so isn't the "X" from your autocomplete script?
Herbert Poesch
Propeller Head
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 5:17 am

Re: "X" in the search input field

Post by Herbert Poesch »

The "X" is also displayed in Flare's own help.
I deactivated the autocomplete in our's, and the "X" ist still there.
And here is an older version that does not have any autocomplete script, but the "X" is there:
https://www.eplan.help/help/platform/2. ... N_help.htm
NorthEast
Master Propellus Maximus
Posts: 6359
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:33 am

Re: "X" in the search input field

Post by NorthEast »

Ah, I see what you mean now.

The "X" appears to be something that IE adds automatically to a search input control - i.e. anything that's <input type="search">
This should remove it:

Code: Select all

input::-ms-clear
{
	display: none;
}
Herbert Poesch
Propeller Head
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 5:17 am

Re: "X" in the search input field

Post by Herbert Poesch »

I put it into my seperate styles CSS, and it works!
Thank you so much Dave!
vabigupta1
Jr. Propeller Head
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2018 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: "X" in the search input field

Post by vabigupta1 »

Hello Herbert/Dave,

I am trying to build something similar on a HTML5 output. I first tried using Elasticsearch, however couldn't install it on a remoteserver (Windows 10 System). The autocomplete script methods looks realy interesting, is it possible to shed some more light on how do you make it work in MadCap flare and what are other dependencies?

Thanks in advance.
Vaibhav Gupta
Madcap Advanced Developer
My recent posts on Madcap flare
Post Reply