CSH IDs from Multiple Projects in Runtime Merged Output

This forum is for all Flare issues related to the HTML5, WebHelp, WebHelp Plus, and Adobe Air Targets

CSH IDs from Multiple Projects in Runtime Merged Output

Postby mihailo_stevanovic on Tue Nov 26, 2019 3:43 pm

Hi,

We are currently looking at consolidating the HTML 5 output of our 10+ projects into a single one using runtime merged publishing as detailed here: https://help.madcapsoftware.com/flare2019r2/Content/Flare/TOCs/More/Merging-Flare-Projects-Using-Targets.htm

Each Flare project represents a single module of our application suite and each one has a separate alias file. The problem is that same IDs are reused across modules. For example, in Module 1 ID 1050 points to a topic, while in Module 2 the same ID points to a completely unrelated topic. Historically, this hasn't been a problem for a us, because the CSH link in Module 1 pointed to http://financialforcehelp.com/module1/v1/Default.htm#cshid=1050 while the page with the same ID in Module 2 pointed to http://financialforcehelp.com/module2/v1/Default.htm#cshid=1050.

The main issue we are currently facing with the merged output is that both Module 1 and Module 2 would point to the same place: http://financialforcehelp.com/consolidated/v1/Default.htm#cshid=1050. This would then redirect to http://financialforcehelp.com/consolidated/v1/Default.htm#/Subsystem/module1/Default.htm#cshid=1050 because it's the first hit it finds.

Is there are way we could handle this without changing the existing alias files? We would like to avoid changing the existing IDs because the development cost for us would be very high. We would be happy to change the format of the link to something similar to http://financialforcehelp.com/consolidated/v1/Default.htm#cshid=1050&module=module1. However, we don't know if this is feasible in Flare.

All suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Mihailo Stevanovic
mihailo_stevanovic
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2019 11:01 am

Re: CSH IDs from Multiple Projects in Runtime Merged Output

Postby ChoccieMuffin on Thu Nov 28, 2019 7:17 am

Couple of things to think about. What form of HTML5 are you using? I ask because of this note in the Flare help:

"Flare's HTML5 Side and Top Navigation skins do not support runtime project merging."

I have no idea whether this will work, but it shouldn't take too much effort to test. In each of your child projects, in the Content Explorer, create a sub-folder (for example "Module1" and move all your content files into there. When you build your merged super-help, does the path end up different for Module 1 and Module 2? I'm just thrashing around in the dark here, so I apologise if this is a completely stupid suggestion.
Started as a newbie with Flare 6.1, now using Flare 2019r1 and 2020.
Report bugs at http://www.madcapsoftware.com/bugs/submit.aspx.
Request features at https://www.madcapsoftware.com/feedback ... quest.aspx
ChoccieMuffin
Senior Propellus Maximus
 
Posts: 2367
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 8:01 am
Location: Surrey, UK


Return to Web-based Outputs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests

cron