HTML5 Output not displaying in iframe with Flare 2020

This forum is for all Flare issues related to the HTML5, WebHelp, WebHelp Plus, and Adobe Air Targets

HTML5 Output not displaying in iframe with Flare 2020

Postby jeng on Thu May 21, 2020 3:06 pm

I've opened a support ticket for this, but in the meantime, has anyone using Flare 2020 had problems getting HTML5 output to display in an iframe? Since upgrading to Flare 2020, the output does not display in an iframe, and Developer tools\Console indicates the following:
"Uncaught RangeError: Maximum call stack size exceeded", followed by a series of MadCapAll.js references.

Note: The content displays fine in a browser, and displays fine in an iframe if I build it using Flare 2019r2 (same project/target).
jeng
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 10:36 am

Re: HTML5 Output not displaying in iframe with Flare 2020

Postby zappy0 on Fri May 22, 2020 2:52 pm

I have a side nav HTML project that I rebuilt today with Flare 2020. It displays fine within an iframe used within a support portal. What type of HTML output are you publishing? It's a long shot, but did you try clearing your browser's cache? If you manage the site, did you flush the site cache?
zappy0
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 2:19 pm

Re: HTML5 Output not displaying in iframe with Flare 2020

Postby Mina on Tue May 26, 2020 1:16 pm

We are having issues with our search functionality in our HTML5 output. I keeping getting blank results.
Mina
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2019 2:18 am

Re: HTML5 Output not displaying in iframe with Flare 2020

Postby MPlatt on Mon Jun 29, 2020 7:11 am

We have the same issue with our HTML5 output being blank in the iframe we use to display the doc in our product.

We've narrowed it down to this segment of code in MadCapAll.js:
Code: Select all
MadCap.Utilities.MessageBus.PostMessageRequest(parent,"DEBUG-AddLine",[f],null);


Removing that segment from MadCapAll.js in the output resolves the problem.
Of course, as soon as you rebuild the output it is back, so if MadCap can't resolve the issue then we'll use a post-build event command on the target to replace the output version of MadCapAll.js with a version that doesn't contain that segment.
MPlatt
Propeller Head
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 10:20 am

Re: HTML5 Output not displaying in iframe with Flare 2020

Postby juliec on Mon Jun 29, 2020 9:07 am

I am having the exact same issue, and MPlatt's workaround worked perfectly. Thank you! I logged a case with the Madcap support team to register another instance of the issue in the hopes it gets fixed soon.
juliec
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2020 7:57 am

Re: HTML5 Output not displaying in iframe with Flare 2020

Postby oceanclub on Tue Jun 30, 2020 5:18 am

MPlatt wrote:We have the same issue with our HTML5 output being blank in the iframe we use to display the doc in our product.

We've narrowed it down to this segment of code in MadCapAll.js:
Code: Select all
MadCap.Utilities.MessageBus.PostMessageRequest(parent,"DEBUG-AddLine",[f],null);


Removing that segment from MadCapAll.js in the output resolves the problem.
Of course, as soon as you rebuild the output it is back, so if MadCap can't resolve the issue then we'll use a post-build event command on the target to replace the output version of MadCapAll.js with a version that doesn't contain that segment.


Thanks for this very timely help for us - we just ran into this issue with a system going live soon. Do you have details of how to create this post-build event?

Pau
User avatar
oceanclub
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:45 am
Location: Dublin

Re: HTML5 Output not displaying in iframe with Flare 2020

Postby juliec on Tue Jun 30, 2020 6:45 am

I received the following workaround from the Madcap support team:

Thank you for contacting MadCap Technical Support. This issue is indeed caused by a Javascript change made in Flare 2020 that generates the MadCapAll.js file during build time. Please try the following workaround to resolve this issue:
1. Build a Tripane output in Flare 2020
2. Go to the output folder and copy the Resources/Scripts/MadCapAll.js file from here
3. Put this into your Project at Content/Resources/Scripts
4. Go to your Target's Build Events tab and paste the following into the Post-Build Event:

del "$(OutputDirectory)\Resources\Scripts\MadCapAll.js"
copy "$(ProjectDirectory)\Content\Resources\Scripts\MadCapAll.js" "$(OutputDirectory)\Resources\Scripts"
juliec
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2020 7:57 am

Re: HTML5 Output not displaying in iframe with Flare 2020

Postby knandakumar on Thu Aug 06, 2020 1:31 am

HI All,

I have a similar problem of HTML5 output displaying blank pages when published to a SharePoint server. I know it is not an iframe related thread, but i dont know where to post the similar issue. If any of you have faced this, please do let me know if you have the resolution.

I am using the 2019 R2 version of MadCap Flare and generate HTML5 output that gets published on a SharePoint server.

Regards,
Nanda
knandakumar
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2020 11:27 pm

Re: HTML5 Output not displaying in iframe with Flare 2020

Postby criegler on Thu Sep 24, 2020 1:02 am

I sent a bug report to MadCap with reference to this post. Thanks for the solution that also works for us
criegler
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2017 3:26 am

Re: HTML5 Output not displaying in iframe with Flare 2020

Postby eileendcannon_56 on Thu Sep 24, 2020 9:38 am

Our Flare 2020 HTML 5 output is also throwing MadCapAll.js errors when the help is launched from the software. It seems that I found the right forum space to chime in... Thanks.
This is my ticket:
------------ Customer Issue --------------
The HTML 5 help launches without error from the browser. However, when the help is integrated into our software product, launching help from the software throws these errors:
jquery.min.js:4 jQuery.Deferred exception: Maximum call stack size exceeded RangeError: Maximum call stack size exceeded at Object.a.Log.AddLine (https://documentation.corelims.com/docs ... .js:8:5922)
at c (https://documentation.corelims.com/docs ... js:50:1139)
at b (https://documentation.corelims.com/docs ... .js:50:698)
at Object.a._OnMessage (https://documentation.corelims.com/docs ... .js:50:545)
at Object.a.PostMessageRequest (https://documentation.corelims.com/docs ... .js:50:337)
at Object.a.Log.AddLine (https://documentation.corelims.com/docs ... .js:8:5903)
at c (https://documentation.corelims.com/docs ... js:50:1139)
at b (https://documentation.corelims.com/docs ... .js:50:698)
at Object.a._OnMessage (https://documentation.corelims.com/docs ... .js:50:545)
at Object.a.PostMessageRequest (https://documentation.corelims.com/docs ... .js:50:337) undefined
eileendcannon_56
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2019 7:06 am

Re: HTML5 Output not displaying in iframe with Flare 2020

Postby oceanclub on Thu Oct 15, 2020 11:05 am

Just to note this issue appears to have been fixed in 2020 R2:
http://kb.madcapsoftware.com/Content/Flare/General/GEN1064F_-_Flare_2020_r2_Release_Notes.htm

101655, 160940 - Search, CSH calls, and slideshows do not work for frameless output viewed through an iframe

P.
User avatar
oceanclub
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:45 am
Location: Dublin

Re: HTML5 Output not displaying in iframe with Flare 2020

Postby pdavidson on Mon Mar 15, 2021 2:29 pm

I'm on Flare 2020 r3 and seem to still be having this problem. I have followed the instructions regarding the fix, but the issue is still present. Suggestions?
pdavidson
Jr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2017 12:12 pm

Re: HTML5 Output not displaying in iframe with Flare 2020

Postby oceanclub on Mon Mar 15, 2021 3:27 pm

pdavidson wrote:I'm on Flare 2020 r3 and seem to still be having this problem. I have followed the instructions regarding the fix, but the issue is still present. Suggestions?


I too found the problem was still there so we've kept the fix suggested above in this thread for now.

P.
User avatar
oceanclub
Sr. Propeller Head
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:45 am
Location: Dublin


Return to Web-based Outputs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests

cron